volleyball-men-nc flag

NCAA | April 22, 2018

NCAA Men's Volleyball Committee announces championship selections

NC Men's Volleyball: 2018 Selection Show

INDIANAPOLIS — The NCAA Men’s Volleyball Committee announced today the seven teams vying for the 2018 National Collegiate Men’s Volleyball Championship. The top two seeds have been placed in the bracket; the remaining five teams will compete for the last two berths in the bracket via three opening round matches. The opening round matches will be contested April 26, hosted by Ohio State, and May 1, hosted by the University of California, Los Angeles, and the championship will be held May 3 and 5, hosted by UCLA.

2018 interactive bracket

In the first opening round match, Ohio State (23-5) will host King University (23-5). The winner will advance to the second opening round match to play University of California, Irvine (21-9), with the winner advancing to the championship bracket to play Long Beach State University (26-1) at UCLA. In the third opening round match, UCLA (24-7) will play Harvard University (13-13), with the winner advancing to the championship bracket to play Brigham Young University (22-6) at UCLA. Game time for the first opening round match at Ohio State will take place at 7 p.m. Eastern time. The second and third opening round matches at UCLA are 5 p.m. and 7:30 p.m. Pacific time May 1. Game times for the semifinals are 5 p.m. and 7:30 p.m. Pacific time May 3. The championship game will be played at 4 p.m. Pacific time May 5. The semifinal matches will be streamed live on NCAA.com and the championship match will be televised live on ESPNU and will be played at Pauley Pavilion in Los Angeles.

Conferences receiving automatic qualification included the Big West Conference, Conference Carolinas, Eastern Intercollegiate Volleyball Association, Midwestern Intercollegiate Volleyball Association and Mountain Pacific Sports Federation. The remaining two teams were selected at-large without geographical restrictions.

2017 Championship: Ohio State wins National Championship
In 2017, Ohio State defeated Brigham Young University, 3-0 to capture its third national championship title. For updated championship results, log on to NCAA.com.


Hawaii sweeps Long Beach State to win second straight NC men's volleyball national championship

The Hawaii Rainbow Warriors swept Long Beach State on May 7 to win their second straight national championship.

2022 NCAA men’s volleyball championship bracket announced

Selections for the 2022 National Collegiate Men’s Volleyball Championship were announced April 24. The tournament begins May 1.

NCAA DIII men's volleyball committee selects championship bracket

The NCAA Division III Men’s Volleyball Committee announced today the field of 16 teams for the 2022 NCAA Division III Men’s Volleyball Championship.

Subscribe To Email Updates

Enter your information to receive emails about offers, promotions from NCAA.com and our partners