Championship Bracket

INDIANAPOLIS -- The NCAA Division III Womens Volleyball Committee announced the field of 60 teams for the 2005 Division III Womens Volleyball Championship.

Automatic bids were received by 37 conferences. Five teams were selected from Pool B, which consists of independent institutions and institutions that are members of conferences that do not meet the requirements for automatic qualification. Eighteen berths were reserved for Pool C, which consists of institutions from automatic-qualifying conferences that are not conference champions.

The following teams earned Pool B bids: California State University, East Bay, Chapman University, Colorado College, Nebraska Wesleyan University, and Vassar College. The following teams earned Pool C bids: California Lutheran University, Carleton College, Carthage College, Concordia College, Moorhead, Hiram College, Linfield College, Massachusetts Institute of Technology, Millikin University, New York University, Ohio Northern University, University of Puget Sound, College of St. Benedict, Trinity University (Texas), Tufts University, Washington University in St. Louis, University of Wisconsin, Eau Claire, University of Wisconsin, Oshkosh, and University of Wisconsin, Whitewater.

The regional round of the championship will be played November 10-12, and the finals are scheduled for November 17-19. The following teams will host regional competition: Whitworth College, University of Wisconsin, Oshkosh, Emory University, Colby College, Juniata College, University of St. Thomas (Minnesota), Wittenberg University, New York University. Finals will be held at the Salem Civic Center in Salem, Virginia.

The following conferences and institutions were granted automatic qualification:
Allegheny Mountain Collegiate Conference - Pennsylvania State University Erie, the Behrend College
American Southwest Conference - Austin College
Atlantic Women's Colleges Conferences - College of Notre Dame (Maryland)
Capital Athletic Conference - Incorporated Gallaudet University
Centennial Conference - Gettysburg College
City University of New York Athletic Conference - Bernard M. Baruch College
College Conference of Illinois and Wisconsin - Elmhurst College
Commonwealth Coast Conference - Colby-Sawyer College
Commonwealth Conference - Juniata College
Empire 8 - Ithaca College
Freedom Conference - University of Scranton
Great Northeast Athletic Conference - Emmanuel College (Massachusetts)
Heartland Collegiate Athletic Conference - College of Mount St. Joseph
Iowa Intercollegiate Athletic Conference - Central College (Iowa)
Lake Michigan Conference - Lakeland College
Little East Conference - Eastern Connecticut State University
Massachusetts State College Athletic Conference - Bridgewater State College
Michigan Intercollegiate Athletic Association - Calvin College
Midwest Conference - St. Norbert College
Minnesota Intercollegiate Athletic Conference - University of St. Thomas (Minnesota)
New England Small College Athletic Conference - Colby College
New England Women's and Men's Athletic Conference - Smith College
New Jersey Athletic Conference - New Jersey City University
North Atlantic Conference - Mount Ida College
North Coast Athletic Conference - Wittenberg University
Northwest Conference - Whitworth College
Ohio Athletic Conference - Capital University
Old Dominion Athletic Conference - Washington and Lee University
Pennsylvania Athletic Conference - Eastern University
Skyline Conference - Stevens Institute of Technology
Southern California Intercollegiate Athletic Conference - University of La Verne
Southern Collegiate Athletic Conference - Southwestern University (Texas)
St. Louis Intercollegiate Athletic Conference - Fontbonne University
State University of New York Athletic Conference - State University College at Cortland
University Athletic Association- Emory University
USA South Athletic Conference - Christopher Newport University
Wisconsin Intercollegiate Athletic Conference - University of Wisconsin, Platteville

-- Courtesy