Championship Bracket

INDIANAPOLIS -- The NCAA Division I Women's Volleyball Committee announced today the 64-team field for the 2005 NCAA Division I Women's Volleyball Championship. Thirty-one conferences were awarded automatic qualification, and the remaining 33 slots were filled with at-large selections to complete the bracket.

The top 16 teams were seeded nationally and placed within four regions. The teams tabbed as the top four seeds were University of Nebraska, Lincoln; Pennsylvania State University; University of Washington; and University of Arizona.

Team pairings were determined by geographical proximity, with the exception that teams from the same conference were not paired during the first and second rounds.

The Big 12 Conference led all conferences with seven teams selected. Three conferences landed six teams including the Big Ten Conference, Pacific-10 Conference and Southeastern Conference. Three teams, Penn State, Stanford University and University of California, Santa Barbara, have earned bids to all 25 championships. Four teams are making their initial appearances in the tournament: State University of New York at Binghamton, Virginia Commonwealth University, Jacksonville State University and University of Alabama, Tusacaloosa.

In the 25-year history of the championship, nine schools have been crowned champion, eight of which are in this year's bracket, including the defending champion Stanford.

Additional past winners making the field are Stanford (1992, 94, 96, 97, 2001, 04), University of Hawaii, Manoa (1982, 83, 87), Long Beach State University (1989, 93, 98), University of California, Los Angeles (1984, 90, 91), Nebraska (1995 and 2000), University of Southern California (1981, 2002, 03), Penn State (1999) and University of Texas at Austin (1988).

First- and second-round matches will be played at 16 campus sites. A list of the first-round match-ups follows.


December 2-3 at Nebraska
Nebraska (28-1) vs. Alabama A&M (15-11)
American (25-9) vs. Duke (23-7)

December 2-3 at UCLA
UCLA (18-10) vs. Kansas (15-14)
Long Beach State (25-6) vs. San Diego (22-5)

December 2-3 at Louisville
Louisville (29-2) vs. Western Kentucky (31-2)
Kentucky (17-11) vs. Maryland (27-4)

December 1-2 at Florida
Kansas State (20-10) vs. Florida A&M (22-5)
Florida Atlantic (29-2) vs. Florida (30-2)


December 2-3 at Stanford
Stanford (25-5) vs. Nevada (18-12)
Santa Clara (23-4) vs. Sacramento State (26-8)

December 2-3 at Southern California
Pepperdine (17-11) vs. Brigham Young (25-3)
UC Santa Barbara (21-8) vs. Southern California (16-10)

December 2-3 at Ohio State
Ohio State (21-8) vs. Marshall (26-5)
Ohio (31-2) vs. Alabama (23-10)

December 2-3 at Utah
Utah (22-8) vs. Loyola Marymount (19-10)
Utah State (21-12) vs. Arizona (22-5)


December 2-3 at Colorado State
Washington (26-1) vs. Siena (20-11)
Colorado (15-12) vs. Colorado State (20-8)

December 2-3 at North Carolina
Purdue (23-8) vs. Virginia Commonwealth (22-11)
College of Charleston (30-1) vs. North Carolina (23-9)

December 2-3 at Wisconsin
Wisconsin (23-6) vs. Loyola (Illinois) (13-17)
Valparaiso (27-7) vs. California (18-10)

December 1-2 at Notre Dame
Northwestern (19-11) vs. Texas A&M (16-13)
Dayton (24-10) vs. Notre Dame (28-3)


December 2-3 at Texas
Hawaii (25-6) vs. Texas State (17-14)
Texas (23-4) vs. LSU (21-7)

December 2-3 at Missouri
Arkansas (20-11) vs. St. Mary's (California) (19-9)
Missouri State (24-8) vs. Missouri (22-4)

December 2-3 at Tennessee
Minnesota (24-7) vs. Winthrop (28-5)
Jacksonville State (19-10) vs. Tennessee (21-8)

December 2-3 at Penn State
Cornell (19-5) vs. Long Island (25-13)
Binghamton (20-11) vs. Penn State (29-2)

Teams winning both matches will move on to regional play December 9 and 10. The pre-determined regional sites are Palo Alto, California; Omaha, Nebraska; State College, Pennsylvania; and College Station, Texas. The regional winners will advance to the semifinals and final hosted by University of Texas at San Antonio at the Alamodome in San Antonio, Texas, on December 15 and 17.

For more information about the championship, log on to

-- Courtesy NCAA