July 30, 2009

Courtesy of Lone Star Conference 

RICHARDSON , Texas – West Texas A&M is the top choice to win the Lone Star Conference championship, according to the 2009 LSC preseason volleyball poll announced Thursday.

The league's preseason polls reflect the opinions of LSC head coaches and sports information directors, plus various media representatives from throughout the region.

The 2009 volleyball season begins in late August, with 14 teams set to compete in the league.  LSC teams will use a one-conference, single round-robin scheduling model in 2009, in which each team will play one match against each of the other teams.

The LSC regular season title will be determined by conference matches with the champion and runner-up receiving trophies, while the postseason tournament will use an eight-team bracket, taking the top eight teams in the final conference standings.  The tournament will be played Thursday, Friday and Saturday, Nov. 12-14, using the NCAA regional format and be hosted by the No. 1 seed.

The Lady Buffs claimed their third straight and 14th overall league title last season.  WTAMU was 34-5 overall and undefeated in conference play for the third straight year with a 13-0 mark.

WTAMU, under the direction of first-year head coach Jason Skoch, earned first-place votes on 31 of the 38 ballots for a total of 524 points.  Abilene Christian and Tarleton State collected the remaining first place nods to finish second and third, respectively.  ACU topped Tarleton with 478 total points and four first-place nods to 427 with three top votes for the TexAnns.

Midwestern State was picked fourth with 384 points, while Texas Woman’s was fifth with 352, Angelo State sixth with 349 and Central Oklahoma seventh with 314.

Texas A&M-Commerce (258), Southeastern Oklahoma (246), Cameron (198), Texas A&M-Kingsville (175), East Central (133), Southwestern Oklahoma (104) and Eastern New Mexico (48) rounded out the poll.