Feb. 6, 2009

INDIANAPOLIS - The NCAA Division I Women's Volleyball Committee announced the selections of championship sites for 2010 and 2012.  Kansas City will host the 2010 NCAA Division I Women's Volleyball Championship, and  Louisville will serve as the championship host in 2012.

"The committee had several great bids to consider," said Marie Robbins, chair of the NCAA Division I Women's Volleyball Committee and associate athletics director at the University of Alabama, Tuscaloosa. "Our focus was on continuing the growth that the volleyball championship has experienced over the last four years. We felt that both Kansas City and Louisville demonstrated a level of commitment to this championship that will not only translate into a great student-athlete experience, but also a continuation of the championship's recent growth."

The University of Missouri, Kansas City and the Greater Kansas City Sports Commission will host the 2010 championship at the Sprint Center. The University of Louisville and the Louisville Sports Commission will serve as host at Louisville Arena in 2012.

San Antonio, as previously announced, was selected as the host city for the 2011 NCAA Division I Women's Volleyball Championship in conjunction with the NCAA's Championship City Program.

The 2009 championship will be played Dec. 17 and 19 at the St. Pete Times Forum in Tampa Bay, Fla.