Nov. 8, 2010

NCAA Release

Click Here For The Bracket! Get Acrobat Reader

INDIANAPOLIS --- The NCAA Division III Womens Volleyball Committee announced today the field of 63 teams for the 2010 NCAA Division III Womens Volleyball Championship.

Forty-two conferences were awarded automatic qualification for the 2010 championship. Two teams were selected from Pool B, which consists of independent institutions and institutions that are members of conferences that do not meet the requirements for automatic qualification. The final 19 berths were reserved for Pool C, which consists of institutions from automatic-qualifying conferences that are not the conference champion and any remaining Pool B teams.

Conferences and Teams Receiving Automatic Qualification:

Allegheny Mountain Collegiate Conference Pittsburgh-Bradford

American Southwest Conference Hardin-Simmons

Capital Athletic Conference Frostburg State

Centennial Conference Franklin & Marshall

City University of New York Athletic Conference Hunter

College Conference of Illinois and Wisconsin Carthage

Colonial States Athletic Conference Cabrini

Commonwealth Coast Conference Roger Williams

Commonwealth Conference Lebanon Valley

Empire 8 Ithaca

Freedom Conference Eastern

Great Northeast Athletic Conference Johnson & Wales (Rhode Island)

Great South Athletic Conference Piedmont

Heartland Collegiate Athletic Conference Mount St. Joseph

Iowa Intercollegiate Athletic Conference Wartburg

Landmark Conference Juniata

Little East Conference Massachusetts-Boston

Massachusetts State College Athletic Conference Westfield State

Michigan Intercollegiate Athletic Association Hope

Midwest Conference Beloit

Minnesota Intercollegiate Athletic Conference St. Olaf

New England Collegiate Conference Lesley

New England Small College Athletic Conference Middlebury

New England Womens and Mens Athletic Conference Coast Guard

New Jersey Athletic Conference Richard Stockton

North Atlantic Conference Maine Maritime

North Coast Athletic Conference Wittenberg

North Eastern Athletic Conference Gallaudet

Northern Athletics Conference Dominican (Illinois)

Northwest Conference Whitworth

Ohio Athletic Conference Heidelberg

Old Dominion Athletic Conference Randolph-Macon

Presidents Athletic Conference Thomas More

Skyline Conference Polytechnic (New York)

Southern California Intercollegiate Athletic Conference Cal Lutheran

Southern Collegiate Athletic Conference Colorado College

St. Louis Intercollegiate Athletic Conference Greenville

State University of New York Athletic Conference SUNY Cortland

Upper Midwest Conference Northwestern (Minnesota)

USA South Athletic Conference Christopher Newport

University Athletic Association Emory

Wisconsin Intercollegiate Athletic Association Wisconsin-Platteville

Pool B Berths (2):


Nebraska Wesleyan

Pool C Berths (19):



Case Western Reserve



New York University

Ohio Northern


Puget Sound

Southwestern (Texas)


St. Thomas (Minnesota)

Stevens Institute of Technology


Washington & Lee

Washington U. in St. Louis

Wisconsin-Eau Claire



The womens volleyball committee also announced the final two regional sites:

Emory University - Atlanta, Georgia

Frostburg State University - Frostburg, Maryland

Regional competition will be Friday-Sunday, November 12-14, at all sites except Wittenberg, where competition will be Thursday-Saturday, November 11-13.

In last years finals, Washington U. in St. Louis defeated Juniata by a score of 3-1 to capture its 10th national womens volleyball title.

The CBS Fall Seasonal Show (CSB Sports Presents Championships of the NCAA) will air on Saturday, December 18 at 1 pm Eastern on CBS HD.