Creighton Athletics

OMAHA, Neb. -- The Collegiate Volleyball Update ( has announced its selection of Creighton coach Kirsten Bernthal Booth as the 2010 National Coach of the Year.

"It's an honor to be selected," said Booth. "It's really a testament to our staff and student-athletes. Any individual award like that belongs to the team."

After coming close and just missing out on the NCAA Tournament in the past, Booth's eighth season was the breakthrough year for the Bluejays.

Finishing in the top-third of the Missouri Valley Conference for the third time during Booth's tenure, Creighton finally earned an NCAA Tournament bid, picking up an at-large berth after advancing to MVC Tournament title match.

Finally getting the chance to play in the post season, the Bluejays didn't squander it, downing nationally-ranked Iowa State for their first-ever NCAA tournament victory in their first-ever tournament match.

Creighton finished the year 21-12 -- tying the school-record for wins -- and 13-5 in the Missouri Valley Conference. It was an improvement of seven wins overall versus the 2009 campaign. Creighton also earned votes in the AVCA poll for the first time in program history during its 2010 season.

For her career with the Bluejays, Booth is 141-101 and is the school's all-time wins leader. Booth is assisted by Tom Mendoza, Angie Oxley Behrens and Amanda (Gates) Sjuts.

Receiving honorable mention honors are Carolyn Zimmerman of Cal State Fullerton, Mississippi's Joe Getzin, Utah State head coach Grayson DuBose and Ed Allen from Tulsa.