Brackets: Interactive Printable

INDIANAPOLIS -- The NCAA Division I Women’s Volleyball Committee announced Sunday the 64-team field for the 2012 championship. Thirty-one conferences were awarded automatic qualification, and the remaining 33 slots were filled with at-large selections to complete the bracket.

The top 16 teams were seeded nationally and placed within four regions. The teams tabbed as the top four seeds were No. 1 Penn State, No. 2 Stanford, No. 3 Texas and No. 4 Nebraska.

Per the established bracketing principles the top 16 seeds were provided the opportunity to host. In addition, first- and second-round conference matchups were avoided and team pairings were determined by geographical proximity.

The Big Ten and Pac-12 led all conferences with seven teams each. The West Coast Conference was next with six teams in the tournament. Two teams, Penn State and Stanford, have earned bids to all 32 championships. Two teams are making their initial appearances in the tournament: Central Arkansas and East Tennessee State.

In the 31-year history of the championship, 10 schools have been crowned champion, eight of which are in this year’s bracket, including defending champion UCLA.

Past winners making the field are Stanford (1992, 94, 96, 97, 2001, 04), Hawaii (1982, 83, 87), UCLA (1984, 90, 91, 2011), Nebraska (1995, 2000, and 06), USC (1981, 2002, 03), Penn State (1999, 2007, 08, 09 and 10), Texas (1988) and Washington (2005).

First- and second-round matches will be played at 16 campus sites.

Nov. 30-Dec. 1 at University Park, Pa, Nov. 29-30 at Austin, Texas
No. 1 Penn State vs. Binghamton No. 3 Texas vs. Colgate
Yale vs. Bowling Green North Carolina State vs. Texas A&M
Nov. 30-Dec. 1 at Lexington, Ky. Nov. 30-Dec. 1 at Gainesville, Fla.
Ohio State vs. Notre Dame Miami (Fla.) vs. College of Charleston
East Tennessee State vs. No. 16 Kentucky Tulsa vs. No. 14 Florida
Nov. 30-Dec. 1 at Tallahassee, Fla. Nov. 30-Dec. 1 at Lawrence, Kan.
No. 9 Florida State vs. Hofstra No. 11 Kansas vs. Cleveland State
Colorado State vs. Purdue Wichita State vs. Arkansas
Nov. 30-Dec. 1 at Minneapolis, Minn. Nov. 29-30 at Los Angeles, Calif.
Creighton vs. Marquette St. Mary’s (Calif.) vs. San Diego State
Liberty vs. No. 8 Minnesota Fairfield vs. No. 6 Southern California
Nov. 30-Dec. 1 at Eugene, Ore. Nov. 30-Dec. 1 at Los Angeles, Calif.
No. 5 Oregon vs. Northern Colorado No. 7 UCLA vs. LIU Brooklyn
Pepperdine vs. Dayton Michigan State vs. San Diego
Nov. 30-Dec. 1 at Provo, Utah Nov. 29-30 at Louisville, Ky.
Oklahoma vs. Arizona State Tennessee vs. Michigan
New Mexico State vs. No. 12 BYU Belmont vs. No. 10 Louisville
Nov. 30-Dec. 1 at Seattle, Wash. Nov. 29-30 at Ames, Iowa
No. 13 Washington vs. Central Arkansas No. 15 Iowa State vs. IPFW
Santa Clara vs. Hawaii California vs. North Carolina
Nov. 29-30 at Lincoln, Neb. Nov. 30-Dec. 1 at Stanford, Calif.
Kansas State vs. UNI Western Kentucky vs. Loyola Marymount
UMES vs. No. 4 Nebraska Jackson State vs. No. 2 Stanford

Teams winning both matches will move on to regional play Dec. 7 and 8. The pre-determined regional sites are Berkeley, Calif.; West Lafayette, Ind.; Omaha, Neb.; and Austin, Texas. All regional semifinal games will be shown on ESPN3. Regional final games will air on ESPNU.

The regional winners will advance to the semifinals and final hosted by Louisville and the Louisville Sports Commission at the KFC Yum! Center in Louisville, Ky., on Dec. 13 and 15. Both national semifinal games as well as the championship game will be broadcast by ESPN2.