volleyball-women-d2 flag

Tampa Athletics | December 7, 2013

Spartans take fifth consecutive South Regional crown with win

TAMPA, Fla. -- Winning its fifth consecutive NCAA Division II South Region title, Tampa defeated West Florida 3-1 to advance to the NCAA Division II quarterfinals. The Spartans improve to 32-1 and continue their season while the Argonauts end their campaign with a 28-8.

South Region player of the year Berkley Whaley unleashed a 21 kill onslaught at a torrid .455 attack percentage. The sophomore posted a double-double effort with 11 digs to go along with her 21-kill barrage.

Middle blocking duo Jessica Wagner and Meagan Burke ravaged the Argos for 10 and seven kills respectively, each swinging at a blistering .450+ clip. The tandem was a force at the net as junior Burke blocked six attacks (three solo) while Wagner stopped five.

The team totaled 13 in the win with an impressive seven solo blocks.

Right side Marissa Lisenbee blasted 11 kills for Tampa as setter Kahley Patrick set the team to a .302 attack percentage, spinning 45 assists to go along with eight digs.

UWF’s middle corps led its offense, as Lindsey Homme and Jenny Bellairs amassed 15 and 14 kills respectively while Colleen Starrs paced the defense with 20 digs. Outside hitter Sarah Scott posted double-digit kills with an 11-kill outing.

DII volleyball teams with the most NCAA DII national championships

Cal State San Bernardino won its first DII volleyball championship in 2019. These are the 5 programs with the most DII volleyball national championships.

Subscribe To Email Updates

Enter your information to receive emails about offers, promotions from NCAA.com and our partners