volleyball-women-d1 flag

NCAA.com | November 30, 2015

Division I Women's Volleyball Championship field announced

  Harvard is one of six teams to make its first appearance in the NCAA tournament.

INDIANAPOLIS --- The NCAA Division I Women’s Volleyball committee announced today the 64-team field for the 2015 NCAA Division I Women’s Volleyball Championship. Thirty-two conferences were awarded an automatic qualification, while the remaining 32 slots were filled with at-large selections to complete the bracket.

The top 16 teams were seeded nationally and placed within four regions. The teams tabbed as the top four seeds were No. 1 University of Southern California,  No. 2 University of Minnesota, Twin Cities, No. 3 University of Texas at Austin and  No. 4 University of Nebraska, Lincoln.

BRACKET: Interactive I Printable

Per the established bracketing principles the top 16 seeds were provided the opportunity to host. Additionally, team pairings were determined by geographic proximity, with the exception that teams from the same conference were not paired during the first- and second-rounds. 

The Big Ten Conference led all leagues with nine teams selected to compete in the championship tournament.  The Pac-12 Conference was next with seven teams advancing while the  Big 12 Conference will have five teams compete in the field of 64. Two teams: Pennsylvania State University and Stanford University have earned bids to all 35 championship tournaments. Six programs are making their first appearances in the tournament: Harvard University, Howard University, University of North Carolina Wilmington, Southern Illinois University at Carbondale, Southern Methodist University, and Texas A&M University-Corpus Christi.

During the previous 34 years of the championship 10 schools have won a national title, eight of which earned a place in this year’s bracket.

Previous winners making the field are: UCLA (1984, 1990, 91, 2011), University of Hawaii, Manoa (1982, 83, 87), Nebraska (1995, 2000, 06), Southern California (1981, 2002, 03), Stanford (1992, 94, 96, 97, 2001, 04), Penn State (1999, 2007, 08, 09, 10, 13, 14), Texas (1988, 2012) and  University of Washington (2005).

First- and second-round matches will be played at 16 campus sites.  Teams winning both matches will move on to regional play December 11 and 12. The pre-determined regional sites are Austin, Texas, Des Moines, Iowa, Lexington, Kentucky, and San Diego. All regional semifinal matches will be shown on ESPN3. Regional final matches will air on ESPNU.

The regional winners will advance to the semifinals and final hosted by Nebraska at CenturyLink Center in Omaha, Nebraska on December 17 and 19. Both national semifinal matches as well as the championship match will be broadcast by ESPN2. All regional and championship site match times can be found on the attached championship bracket or online at www.ncaa.com/wvb.


Howard joins the HBCU football power rankings Top 10 for Week 10

Howard controls its destiny to reach the Celebration Bowl after defeating Delaware State and Norfolk State. That first-place start deserves a top-10 ranking.

The top challengers to every defending HBCU men's basketball conference champion

Last year, we saw two HBCUs secure auto-bids — Norfolk State and Texas Southern — but who could challenge the defending champions?

Everything to know about Howard vs. Morehouse in the HBCU New York Football Classic

A guide to the first-ever HBCU New York Football Classic on Saturday, Sept. 17, at MetLife Stadium in East Rutherford, New Jersey.

Subscribe To Email Updates

Enter your information to receive emails about offers, promotions from NCAA.com and our partners