volleyball-women-d3 flag

NCAA.com | November 7, 2016

Division III Women's Volleyball Championship field announced

DIII Women's Volleyball: 2016 Selection Show

INDIANAPOLIS --- The NCAA Division III Women’s Volleyball Committee announced today the field of 64 teams for the 2016 NCAA Division III Women’s Volleyball Championship.

Division III Women's Volleyball Championship: Interactive Bracket | Printable Bracket

Forty-three conferences were awarded an automatic qualification for the 2016 championship. One institution was selected from Pool B, which includes independent institutions and institutions from conferences that do not meet the automatic qualification criteria. The final 20 berths were reserved for Pool C, which consists of institutions from automatic-qualifying conferences that are not the conference champion and independent institutions.

Conferences and Teams Receiving Automatic Qualification (43):

Conference Team
Allegheny Mountain Collegiate Conference Pittsburgh-Bradford
American Southwest Conference Texas-Dallas
Capital Athletic Conference Mary Washington
Centennial Conference Johns Hopkins
City University of New York Athletic Conference Hunter
College Conference of Illinois and Wisconsin Millikin
Colonial States Athletic Conference Cabrini
Commonwealth Coast Conference Endicott
Empire 8 Ithaca
Great Northeast Athletic Conference Johnson & Wales (Rhode Island)
Heartland Collegiate Athletic Conference Bluffton
Iowa Intercollegiate Athletic Conference Wartburg
Landmark Conference Juniata
Liberty League Clarkson
Little East Conference Massachusetts Boston
Massachusetts State Collegiate Athletic Conference Framingham State
Michigan Intercollegiate Athletic Association Hope
Middle Atlantic Conference Commonwealth Stevenson
Middle Atlantic Conference Freedom Eastern
Midwest Conference St. Norbert
Minnesota Intercollegiate Athletic Conference Gustavus Adolphus
New England Collegiate Conference Regis College (Massachusetts)
New England Small College Athletic Conference Middlebury
New England Women’s and Men’s Athletic Conference MIT
New Jersey Athletic Conference Montclair State
North Atlantic Conference Maine Maritime Academy
North Coast Athletic Conference Wittenberg
North Eastern Athletic Conference Gallaudet
Northern Athletics Collegiate Conference Concordia (Wisconsin)
Northwest Conference Whitworth
Ohio Athletic Conference Ohio Northern
Old Dominion Athletic Conference Randolph-Macon
Presidents’ Athletic Conference Bethany (West Virginia)
Skyline Conference Farmingdale State
Southern Athletic Association Hendrix
Southern California Intercollegiate Athletic Conference Cal Lutheran
Southern Collegiate Athletic Conference Trinity (Texas)
St. Louis Intercollegiate Athletic Conference Greenville
State University of New York Athletic Conference College at Brockport
University Athletic Association Emory
Upper Midwest Conference Northwestern-St. Paul
USA South Athletic Conference Meredith
Wisconsin Intercollegiate Athletic Association Wisconsin-Whitewater

Pool B Berth (1):

New Rochelle

Pool C Berths (20):

  • Calvin
  • Carnegie Mellon
  • Christopher Newport
  • Claremont-Mudd-Scripps
  • Clark (Massachusetts)
  • Colorado College
  • DePauw
  • Elmhurst
  • Heidelberg
  • La Verne
  • Ramapo
  • St. Thomas (Minnesota)
  • Southwestern (Texas)
  • Springfield
  • Stevens Institute of Technology
  • Susquehanna
  • Tufts
  • Washington U. in St. Louis
  • Wisconsin-La Crosse
  • Wisconsin-Oshkosh


The women’s volleyball committee also announced the eight regional sites:

  • Brockport – Brockport, New York
  • Calvin – Grand Rapids, Michigan
  • Mary Washington – Fredericksburg, Virginia
  • Northwestern-St. Paul – St. Paul, Minnesota
  • Stevens – Hoboken, New Jersey
  • Texas-Dallas – Dallas, Texas
  • Tufts – Medford, Massachusetts
  • Wisconsin-Whitewater – Whitewater, Wisconsin


Regional competition will be Friday-Sunday, November 11-13, at all sites except Calvin, Northwestern-St. Paul and Wisconsin-Whitewater, where competition will be Thursday-Saturday, November 10-12.

In last year’s final, California Lutheran defeated Wittenberg to win its first NCAA championship in school history.


2022 NCAA volleyball tournament: Bracket, schedule for the DI women's championship

The updated bracket, TV schedule and scores for the 2022 NCAA DI women's college volleyball tournament.

7 dark horse teams to watch in the 2022 DI women's volleyball tournament

Here are seven dark horse teams in the volleyball tournament that you should keep your eye on.

The top 7 storylines of the 2022 DI women's volleyball tournament

Here are some of the top storylines to watch out for as 64-teams look for a national title in the 2022 DI women's volleyball tournament.