volleyball-women-d2 flag

NCAA | November 21, 2016

DII volleyball: 2016 championship bracket released

INDIANAPOLIS -- The NCAA Division II Women's Volleyball Committee has selected the 64 teams that will be participating in the 2016 NCAA Division II Women’s Volleyball Championship. Eight teams were selected from each of the following eight regions: Atlantic, Central, East, Midwest, South, South Central, Southeast and West.

RELATED: 2016 interactive bracket

Eight eight-team regionals will be played at on-campus sites. Regional competition will be single-elimination, best three-of-five-set matches and will not include a third-place match. The winners of each of the eight regionals will advance to the finals, Dec. 8-10, at the Sanford Pentagon in Sioux Falls, South Dakota. The Northern Sun Intercollegiate Conference and Sioux Falls Sports Authority will serve as hosts. Competition at the finals site will be single-elimination; best three-of-five-set matches.

Atlantic Region:

Hosted by Wheeling Jesuit University, Wheeling, West Virginia – Dec. 2-4

No. 1 Wheeling Jesuit (38-2) vs. No. 8 Shaw (22-7)

No. 2 Gannon (30-3) vs. No. 7 Fairmont State (21-13)

No. 3 Edinboro (23-8) vs. No. 6 Shippensburg (26-7)

No. 4 Pittsburgh-Johnstown (24-9) vs. No. 5 California (Pennsylvania) (22-9)

Central Region:

Hosted by Concordia University, St. Paul, St. Paul, Minnesota – Dec. 1-3

No. 1 Concordia-St. Paul (29-2) vs. No. 8 Southern Nazarene (20-10)

No. 2 Southwest Minnesota State (26-5) vs. No. 7 Wayne State (Nebraska) (24-7)

No. 3 Nebraska-Kearney (35-1) vs. No. 6 Augustana (South Dakota) (26-5)

No. 4 Minnesota Duluth (25-4) vs. No. 5 Winona State (26-5)

East Region:

Hosted by Daemen College, Amherst, New York – Dec. 1-3

No. 1 New York Institute of Technology (28-5) vs. No. 8 Adelphi (20-12)

No. 2 Daemen (23-7) vs. No. 7 Post (26-5)

No. 3 New Haven (19-8) vs. No. 6 Philadelphia U. (29-4)

No. 4 American International (25-6) vs. No. 5 Le Moyne (22-6)

Midwest Region:

Hosted by Ferris State University, Big Rapids, Michigan – Dec. 1-3

No. 1 Ferris State (28-5) vs. No. 8 Truman (18-16)

No. 2 Findlay (21-9) vs. No. 7 Cedarville (26-8)

No. 3 Lewis (25-7) vs. No. 6 Ashland (23-10)

No. 4 Rockhurst (27-6) vs. No. 5 Saginaw Valley State (19-11)

South Region:                                          

Hosted by Palm Beach Atlantic University, West Palm Beach, Florida – Dec. 1-3

No. 1 Palm Beach Atlantic (28-3) vs. No. 8 Kentucky State (22-17)

No. 2 Saint Leo (20-11) vs. No. 7 Florida Southern (20-10)

No. 3 Tampa (22-8) vs. No. 6 Lynn (20-10)

No. 4 West Florida (25-9) vs. No. 5 North Alabama (29-5)

Southeast Region:

Hosted by University of South Carolina Aiken, Aiken, South Carolina – Dec. 2-4

No. 1 South Carolina Aiken (28-4) vs. No. 8 Barton (22-8)

No. 2 Wingate (29-5) vs. No. 7 Queens (North Carolina) (20-9)

No. 3 Flagler (23-6) vs. No. 6 Lander (21-11)

No. 4 Armstrong St. (25-7) vs. No. 5 Lincoln Memorial (25-8)

South Central Region:      

Hosted by Angelo State University, San Angelo, Texas – Dec. 1-3

No. 1 Angelo State (31-3) vs. No. 8 Texas A&M-Kingsville (26-9)

No. 2 MSU Denver (25-4) vs. No. 7 Colorado Mesa (18-9)

No. 3 Tarleton State (26-6) vs. No. 6 Regis (Colorado) (18-11)

No. 4 Colorado School of Mines (24-6) vs. No. 5 Arkansas-Fort Smith (24-5)

West Region:

Hosted by University of Alaska Anchorage, Anchorage, Alaska – Dec. 1-3

No. 1 Alaska Anchorage (29-2) vs. No. 8 Chico State (23-7)

No. 2 Cal State San Bernardino (24-4) vs. No. 7 Central Washington (17-11)

No. 3 Western Washington (21-7) vs. No. 6 California Baptist (20-8)

No. 4 Simon Fraser (21-7) vs. No. 5 Northwest Nazarene (20-7)


California Collegiate Athletic Association – Cal State San Bernardino

Central Atlantic Collegiate Conference – Philadelphia U.

Central Intercollegiate Athletic Association – Shaw

Conference Carolinas – Barton

East Coast Conference – New York Institute of Technology

Great American Conference – Southern Nazarene

Great Lakes Intercollegiate Athletic Conference – Ferris State

Great Lakes Valley Conference – Truman

The Great Midwest Athletic Conference – Cedarville

Great Northwest Athletic Conference – Alaska Anchorage

Gulf South Conference – North Alabama

Heartland Conference – Arkansas-Fort Smith

Lone Star Conference – Angelo State

Mid-America Intercollegiate Athletics Association – Nebraska-Kearney

Mountain East Conference – Wheeling Jesuit

Northeast-10 Conference – New Haven

Northern Sun Intercollegiate Conference – Concordia-St. Paul

Pacific West Conference – California Baptist

Peach Belt Conference – Flagler

Pennsylvania State Athletic Conference – Gannon

Rocky Mountain Athletic Conference – Colorado School of Mines

South Atlantic Conference – Wingate

Southern Intercollegiate Athletic Conference – Kentucky State

Sunshine State Conference – Saint Leo

The complete 2016 NCAA Division II Women’s Volleyball Championship bracket is available online at www.NCAA.com.

Selection criteria data through the end of the regular season, including conference competition, is available here:

Atlantic | Central | East | Midwest | South | South Central | Southeast | West

Here are the toughest matches left for the undefeated DII women’s volleyball teams

Four undefeated teams remain in DII women's volleyball season. Here's a quick look at how each team got here and what's left on the schedule.

College volleyball: Creighton's Keeley Davis named AVCA national Player of the Week

Davis is the second player in program history to earn AVCA National Player of the Week honors, joining Michelle Sicner exactly six years ago to the day after Sicner led her team to wins over DePaul and Marquette.

College volleyball: Here are the top matchups to watch in Week 8

Michella Chester breaks down the top three volleyball games to watch in week eight.

Subscribe To Email Updates

Enter your information to receive emails about offers, promotions from NCAA.com and our partners