volleyball-women-d1 flag

AVCA.org | December 14, 2016

DI AVCA All-America teams announced

  Four of Stanford's players were named to All-America teams.

COLUMBUS, Ohio -- The American Volleyball Coaches Association (AVCA) is proud to announce the 36th annual AVCA Division I All-America Teams for women's volleyball. The awards will be presented Dec. 16, 2016, in Columbus, Ohio at the AVCA All-America/Players of the Year Banquet. The event is held in conjunction with the 2016 AVCA Convention.

Each of the three AVCA All-America Teams is comprised of 14 athletes. The Division I AVCA National Player of the Year will be announced on Dec. 16 at the AVCA All-America/Players of the Year Banquet. This year’s class is led by Wisconsin setter Lauren Carlini and Nebraska right side Kadie Rolfzen. They both take home their fourth AVCA All-American honor, and become just the 27th and 28th players in Division I history to accomplish that feat.

MORE: DI volleyball interactive playoff bracket

The selections were made by the AVCA Division I All-America Committee: Chair: Sherry Dunbar, Indiana University; South Region: Karen Weatherington, UNC Charlotte; East Region; Jackie Simpson, George Mason; East Coast Region: Dennis Hohenshelt, Virginia; Midwest Region: Melissa Stokes, Missouri State; North Region: Cathy George, Michigan State; Northeast Region: Ryan Baker, Colgate; Pacific North Region: Shawn Garus, Boise State; Pacific South Region; Beth Launiere, Utah; Southeast Region: Scott Swanson, South Carolina; Southwest Region: Jill Kramer, TCU.

First Team

Player School
Inky Ajanaku Stanford
Amy Boswell BYU
Lauren Carlini Wisconsin
Simone Lee Penn State
Ebony Nwanebu Texas
Kelsie Payne Kansas
Kathryn Plummer Stanford
Kadie Rolfzen Nebraska
Courtney Schwan Washington
Samantha Seliger-Swenson Minnesota
Haleigh Washington Penn State
Micaya White Texas
Sarah Wilhite Minnesota
Justine Wong-Orantes Nebraska

Second Team

Player School
Adora Anae Utah
Abby Cole Michigan
Chole Collins Texas
Alyssa Garvelink Michigan State
Alex Holston Florida
Kelly Hunter Nebraska
Crissy Jones Washington
Taylor Leath North Carolina
Haleigh Nelson Wisconsin
Taylor Sandbothe Ohio State
Katie Staiger Baylor
Bailey Tenner Washington
Hannah Tapp Minnesota
Nikki Taylor Hawaii

Third Team

Player School
Rhamat Alhassan Florida
Katie Brand Kansas State
Melanie Crow Missouri
Lydia Dimke Creighton
Leah Edmond Kentucky
Molly Haggerty Wisconsin
Ainise Havili Kansas
Merete Lutz Stanford
Kalei Mau Arizona
McKenna Miller BYU
Amber Rolfzen Nebraska
Penina Snuka Arizona
Lindsey Vander Weide Oregon
Tionna Williams Wisconsin

For more information about the players and those listed as an honorable mention, visit the AVCA website

The Wisconsin volleyball dream player, built by coach Kelly Sheffield

Wisconsin volleyball head coach Kelly Sheffield builds his ultimate Badger dream player from the many outstanding student-athletes he's coached.

How Wisconsin volleyball is helping the Badger state vote in 2020

Wisconsin All American Dana Rettke and coach Kelly Sheffield tell us why the Badgers volunteered to work at the polls on Election Day 2020.

Where the DI college volleyball season stands, right now

T.J. Meagher, chair of the DI NCAA Women's Volleyball Committee, and Kristin Fasbender, NCAA Director of Championships and Alliances, broke down how this season and the volleyball championship will work. Here is everything that we know about the volleyball season, right now.

Subscribe To Email Updates

Enter your information to receive emails about offers, promotions from NCAA.com and our partners