volleyball-women-d3 flag

NCAA.com | November 6, 2017

DIII women's volleyball championship bracket announced

DIII Women's Volleyball: 2017 Selection Show

INDIANAPOLIS --- The NCAA Division III Women’s Volleyball Committee announced today the field of 64 teams for the 2017 NCAA Division III Women’s Volleyball Championship.

Forty-three conferences were awarded an automatic qualification for the 2017 championship.   One institution was selected from Pool B, which includes independent institutions and institutions from conferences that do not meet the automatic qualification criteria.  The final 20 berths were reserved for Pool C, which consists of institutions from automatic-qualifying conferences that are not the conference champion and independent institutions. 

Interactive bracket | Printable bracket

Conferences and Teams Receiving Automatic Qualification (43):

Conference School
Allegheny Mountain Collegiate Conference Penn State-Behrend
American Southwest Conference Texas-Dallas
Capital Athletic Conference Christopher Newport
Centennial Conference Johns Hopkins
City University of New York Athletic Conference Hunter
College Conference of Illinois and Wisconsin Carthage
Colonial States Athletic Conference Cabrini
Commonwealth Coast Conference Endicott
Empire 8 Stevens Institute of Technology
Great Northeast Athletic Conference Johnson & Wales (Rhode Island)
Heartland Collegiate Athletic Conference Hanover
Iowa Intercollegiate Athletic Conference Wartburg
Landmark Conference Juniata
Liberty League Clarkson
Little East Conference Massachusetts Boston
Massachusetts State Collegiate Athletic Conference Worcester State
Michigan Intercollegiate Athletic Association Calvin
Middle Atlantic Conference Commonwealth Stevenson
Middle Atlantic Conference Freedom Eastern
Midwest Conference Cornell
Minnesota Intercollegiate Athletic Conference Saint Benedict
New England Collegiate Conference Elms
New England Small College Athletic Conference Wesleyan (Connecticut)
New England Women’s and Men’s Athletic Conference MIT
New Jersey Athletic Conference Kean
North Atlantic Conference Maine Maritime
North Coast Athletic Conference Wittenberg
North Eastern Athletic Conference Morrisville State
Northern Athletics Collegiate Conference Concordia (Wisconsin)
Northwest Conference Pacific Lutheran
Ohio Athletic Conference Otterbein
Old Dominion Athletic Conference Randolph-Macon
Presidents’ Athletic Conference Thomas More
Skyline Conference Merchant Marine
Southern Athletic Association Berry
Southern California Intercollegiate Athletic Conference Claremont-Mudd-Scripps
Southern Collegiate Athletic Conference Colorado College
St. Louis Intercollegiate Athletic Conference Greenville
State University of New York Athletic Conference College at Brockport
University Athletic Association Washington U. in St. Louis
Upper Midwest Conference Northwestern-St. Paul
USA South Athletic Conference Covenant
Wisconsin Intercollegiate Athletic Association Wisconsin-La Crosse

Pool B Berth (1):

New Rochelle

Pool C Berths (20):




Carnegie Mellon




Gustavus Adolphus

Illinois Wesleyan



Ohio Northern

St. Thomas (Minnesota)

Southwestern (Texas)


Trinity (Texas)





The women’s volleyball committee also announced the eight regional sites:

Atlanta, Georgia – Emory, host

Bloomington, Illinois – Illinois Wesleyan, host

Georgetown, Texas – Southwestern (Texas), host

Owings Mills, Maryland – Stevenson, host

Potsdam, New York – Clarkson, host

Providence, Rhode Island – Johnson & Wales, host

St. Paul, Minnesota – Northwestern-St. Paul, host

Westerville, Ohio – Otterbein, host

Regional competition will be Friday-Sunday, November 10-12, at all sites except Atlanta, Bloomington and St. Paul where competition will be Thursday-Saturday, November 9-11.

In last year’s final, Calvin defeated Washington U. in St. Louis to win its third NCAA championship in school history.

It has come full circle for Penn State volleyball's new head coach Katie Schumacher-Cawley

Katie Schumacher-Cawley sat down with NCAA.com to discuss taking over the Penn State head coaching position from legendary head coach Russ Rose.

Panel approves permanent change to women's college volleyball challenge rules

Women’s volleyball teams will begin each match with two video challenges. The NCAA Playing Rules Oversight Panel on Tuesday approved this decision starting with the 2022 season.

College volleyball transfers: Top impact 2022 moves, so far

Here is an ongoing tracker of the biggest impact college volleyball transfers for the 2022 season.

Subscribe To Email Updates

Enter your information to receive emails about offers, promotions from NCAA.com and our partners