volleyball-women-d1 flag

AVCA.org | December 13, 2017

AVCA announces All-American volleyball teams

Kansas City, Mo. - The American Volleyball Coaches Association (AVCA) is proud to announce the 37th annual AVCA Division I All-America Teams for women's volleyball. The awards will be presented Dec. 15 in Kansas City, Mo. at the AVCA All-America/Players of the Year Banquet. The event is held in conjunction with the 2017 AVCA Convention.

Each of the three AVCA All-America Teams is comprised of 14 athletes. The Division I TeamSnap/AVCA National Player of the Year will be announced on Dec. 15 at the AVCA All-America/Players of the Year Banquet. This year’s class is led by three, four-time AVCA All-Americans: Florida’s Rhamat Alhassan, Texas’ Chiaka Ogbogu, and Stanford’s Merete Lutz.

All-American First Team
First Name School Pos. Year
Rhamat Alhassan University of Florida MB Sr.
Adora Anae University of Utah OH Sr.
Danielle Cuttino Purdue University MB/OH Sr.
Leah Edmond University of Kentucky OH So.
Jenna Gray Stanford University S So.
Morgan Hentz Stanford University L So.
Kelly Hunter University of Nebraska S Sr.
Khalia Lanier University of Southern California OH So.
Simone Lee Penn State University OH Sr.
Chiaka Ogbogu University of Texas MB RS-Sr.
Kathryn Plummer Stanford University OH So.
Dana Rettke University of Wisconsin MB Fr.
Stephanie Samedy University of Minnesota RS Fr.
Haleigh Washington Penn State University MB Sr.
All-American Second Team
First Name School Pos. Year
Annika Albrecht University of Nebraska OH Sr.
Autumn Bailey Michigan State University OH RS-Sr.
Audriana Fitzmorris Stanford University MB So.
Mikaela Foecke University of Nebraska OH Jr.
Alyssa Garvelink Michigan State University MB Sr.
Madeleine Gates UCLA MB So.
Shainah Joseph University of Florida RS RS-Sr.
Madison Lilley University of Kentucky S Fr.
Merete Lutz Stanford University RS RS-Sr.
Emily Maglio University of Hawai'i MB Sr.
Samantha Seliger-Swenson University of Minnesota S Jr.
Alexa Smith University of Colorado OH Jr.
Carli Snyder University of Florida OH Sr.
Kendall White Penn State University L So.
All-American Third Team
First Name School Pos. Year
Brittany Abercrombie University of Southern California RS Sr.
Sherridan Atkinson Purdue University RS RS-Jr.
Ali Bastianelli University of Illinois MB Jr.
Alyssa Cavanaugh Western Kentucky University OH Sr.
Carly DeHoog University of Washington RS Sr.
Kristen Gengenbacher University of San Diego S Sr.
Alexis Hart University of Minnesota OH So.
Lily Johnson Missouri State University OH Sr.
Veronica Jones-Perry BYU OH Jr.
Rachael Kramer University of Florida MB So.
Kelsie Payne University of Kansas RS Sr.
Jordyn Poulter University of Illinois S Jr.
Carly Skjodt University of Michigan OH Jr.
Micaya White University of Texas OH RS-So.

The selections were made by the AVCA Division I All-America Committee: Chair: Cathy George, Michigan State; South Region: Karen Weatherington, UNC Charlotte; East Region; Christy Pfeffenberger, Xavier; East Coast Region: Michelle Collier, Georgia Tech; Midwest Region: Melissa Stokes, Missouri State; North Region: Shane Davis, Northwestern; Northeast Region: Ryan Baker, Colgate; Pacific North Region: Marc Swindle, Air Force; Pacific South Region; Beth Launiere, Utah; Southeast Region: Tom Black, Georgia; Southwest Region: Jill Kramer, TCU.

No. 2 Texas vs. No. 6 Baylor highlights the must-watch college volleyball matchups this week

Here is a full breakdown of the three top college volleyball matchups to watch this week, including No. 10 Penn State vs. No. 11 Purdue.

College volleyball rankings: Wisconsin, Texas lead the Power 10

Here is a full breakdown of the latest Power 10 rankings in college volleyball where the top four remain the same and Utah drops four spots to No. 9.

These are the top college volleyball liberos in 2021

Here is an in-depth look at sone of the top college volleyball liberos this season on highly ranked teams, including Minnesota's CC McGraw and Kentucky's Gabby Curry.

Subscribe To Email Updates

Enter your information to receive emails about offers, promotions from NCAA.com and our partners