volleyball-women-d1 flag

Shannon Scovel and Jacob Myers | NCAA.com | November 25, 2018

These are the automatic qualifiers for the 2018 NCAA volleyball tournament

Andy Katz talks Navy volleyball

The automatic qualifying bids to the 2018 NCAA Division I women's volleyball tournament are set, as 32 teams clinched their spots by winning their conference or conference tournament. Of those 32 teams, five teams — Florida Gulf Coast, Eastern Michigan, Bryant, Navy and South Dakota — will make their first NCAA tournament appearance.

RELATED: 2018 DI volleyball championship field announced | 2018 bracket

After losing in the Atlantic Sun championship match the past two seasons, the Florida Gulf Coast Eagles finally broke through for their first tournament title and an NCAA bid. They won the A-Sun regular season outright going 15-1 in conference, then beat No. 2 seed Kennesaw State in the final, which beat Gulf Coast in the final last season.

Unlike Florida Gulf Coast, Navy hadn't had a ton of recent success before winning its first-ever bid to the NCAAs. The Mids began the 2015 season 2-19. Three years later, they're in the NCAA tournament after sharing the Patriot League regular-season title with American, then beating the Eagles in the championship match.

In one of the more improbable runs in the 2018 conference tournaments, Eastern Michigan secured its first NCAA tournament bid by winning the MAC as a No. 5 seed. The Eagles won four straight matches on their way to the title, beating No. 1 Bowling Green in the semifinals, then knocking off No. 2 Miami (Ohio) in the championship.

Bryant and South Dakota were both No. 2 seeds in its conference tournaments. Bryant won the Northeast Conference by beating No. 4 seed Sacred Heart in the tournament final, while the Coyotes pulled off a stunning upset against Denver. The Pioneers had won the past four Summit League championships until South Dakota secured its first invite to the tournament.

RELATED: These are the 92 women's volleyball teams that haven’t made the NCAA tournament

The entire list of automatic qualifiers: 

Stony Book America East
UCF American Athletic Conference
Pittsburgh ACC
Florida Gulf Coast Atlantic Sun
Dayton Atlantic 10
Creighton Big East
Northern Arizona Big Sky
High Point Big South
Minnesota Big Ten
Texas Big 12
Cal Poly Big West
Hofstra Colonial Athletic Association
Rice Conference USA
Green Bay Horizon League
Yale Ivy League
Eastern Michigan MAC
Howard MEAC
Northern Iowa Missouri Valley
Colorado State Mountain West
Bryant Northeast Conference
Murray State Ohio Valley
Stanford Pac-12
Navy Patriot League
Kentucky SEC
Samford Southern
Stephen F. Austin State Southland
Alabama State SWAC
South Dakota Summit League
Texas State Sun Belt
New Mexico State WAC

RELATED: DI championship history | 2018 championship info and tickets

Alabama State and Morgan State's wins shake up Week 2 HBCU football power rankings

Here are Week 2's HBCU football power rankings from NCAA Digital's Stan Becton.

2023 SWAC Championship: Date, time, location, tv channel, history

Here's the what you need to know for the 2023 SWAC Championship Game, including a list of past SWAC champions and how teams qualify for the postseason game.

Every HBCU player ever selected in the NBA Draft

A complete history of HBCU players in the NBA draft, including the 351 HBCU men's basketball players selected since 1950.

Subscribe To Email Updates

Enter your information to receive emails about offers, promotions from NCAA.com and our partners