volleyball-women-d1 flag

NCAA.com | April 4, 2021

DI women's volleyball committee announces 2020 championship field

Kentucky volleyball's Madison Lilley: 'We have our eyes set on making history'

INDIANAPOLIS — The NCAA Division I Women’s Volleyball Committee announced the 48-team field that will compete in the 2020 NCAA Division I Women’s Volleyball Championship. Thirty conferences were awarded an automatic qualification, while the remaining 18 positions were filled with at-large selections to complete the bracket.

The University of Wisconsin earned the top seed and will compete in the NCAA postseason for the 24th time and the eighth consecutive season. The Badgers were the 2019 national runnersup. The University of Kentucky is the second seed, followed by No. 3 University of Minnesota and the University of Texas earned the fourth seed.

LIVE UPDATES: Follow along with the 2020 volleyball championships 

The top 16 teams were seeded nationally and received a first-round bye for this year's 48-team bracket. Teams from the same conference were not paired during first- and second-round competition.

The Big Ten Conference led all conferences with six teams selected from their league to compete in the championship tournament. The Pac-12 Conference was second with five programs advancing to the tournament, and the Atlantic Coast Conference had four members make the field. N.C. A&T and Utah Valley are making their first appearances in the tournament.

MORE: Here are the 30 automatic qualifiers in the 2020-21 NCAA women's volleyball championship

The 48 teams participating in the championship will travel to Omaha, Nebraska, where all rounds of the tournament will be played April 14-24 at the CHI Health Center Omaha Convention Center and Arena, hosted by the University of Nebraska and MECA. First- and second-round matches will be played April 14 and 15, and regional semifinals will be played April 18, at the convention center. Regional finals will take place on April 19 at the arena.

The regional winners will advance to the national semifinals and championship final hosted on April 22 and 24 at the CHI Health Center Omaha arena. The national semifinal matches and championship match will broadcast on ESPN2. All matches will be streamed on various ESPN networks.

Women’s volleyball can experiment with challenge review system rules

The NCAA Playing Rules Oversight Panel on Tuesday approved an experimental rule allowing women’s volleyball teams to begin a match with two video coach’s challenges in conference matches.

These 9 NCAA women's volleyball programs have won the most national championships

Stanford won its second-straight title in 2019 and claimed the 38th national championship in NCAA women's volleyball history. Let's take a look at the programs with multiple titles.

Kentucky vs. Texas: Preview, how to watch the NCAA volleyball championship live from Omaha

Here is a preview and how to watch when Kentucky and Texas meet for the 2020-21 women's DI volleyball championship Saturday night in Omaha.

Subscribe To Email Updates

Enter your information to receive emails about offers, promotions from NCAA.com and our partners