volleyball-women-d1 flag

Wayne Cavadi | NCAA.com | September 19, 2022

The women's DI college volleyball teams with the most national championships

The college volleyball libero, explained


Stanford is the most successful program in DI women's college volleyball history with nine national championships.

The Cardinal won its first in 1992 and most recent, as of this writing, in 2019.

Here's a look at Stanford and the other programs with the most women’s volleyball championships.

9 — Stanford (1992, 1994, 1996, 1997, 2001, 2004, 2016, 2018, 2019)

Watch the moment Stanford won the 2019 DI women's volleyball championship

Stanford has been on a tear of late, with back-to-back titles in 2018 and 2019. Not only does the Cardinal have the most national championships, they have the most national runners-up seasons with eight as well, including a run of three straight from 2006 to 2008. 

STANFORD LEGENDS: Watch Kerri Walsh's NCAA highlights at Stanford

7 — Penn State (1999, 2007, 2008, 2009, 2010, 2013, 2014)

NCAA Photos Penn State won four NCAA women's volleyball titles in a row from 2007-2010.

While there have been a few repeat champions in women’s volleyball, none had the run that the Nittany Lions had from 2007 to 2010. Four national championships in a row, including two of the five perfect seasons in women’s volleyball lore, all equate to arguably the most dominant four years in the sport's history. The beginning of the run featured back-to-back title matches against Stanford.

5 — Nebraska (1995, 2000, 2006, 2015, 2017)

NCAA Photos Nebraska has won five NCAA women's volleyball titles.

The Huskers made their 15th national semifinals appearance in the 2018 season before losing to Stanford in the national championship match. Nebraska has become a steady presence deep into the NCAA tournament since its first title in 1995, making seven championship match appearances since then.

WATCH: Nebraska's Lauren Stivrins talks team aspirations following 2019 season

4 — UCLA (1984, 1990, 1991, 2011)

NCAA Photos UCLA has won four NCAA women's volleyball national championships.

The Bruins just missed twice in the early days of NCAA women’s volleyball, finishing as national runners-up in the inaugural 1981 championship match and then again two years later to Hawaii. Finally, Andy Banachowski and his crew broke through in 1984 and he and the Bruins won two more before waiting 20 years until another UCLA title came around. 

USC, LBSU and Hawaii have 3 each

Southern California (1981, 2002, 2003): The Trojans will always be the first-ever champions and 21 years later Mick Haley led them to repeat titles in 2002 and 2003.

Long Beach State (1989, 1993, 1998): From 1989 to 2001, The Beach appeared in five title matches, winning three times. The 1998 victory over Penn State concluded with the first perfect season (36-0) in NCAA women’s volleyball history.

Hawaii (1982, 1983, 1987): Dave Shoji led Hawaii in becoming the first repeat national champions in NCAA women’s volleyball history with wins over Southern California and UCLA. Hawaii went 67-3 over that dominating run.

Texas and Pacific have 2 each

Texas (1988, 2012): No team had to wait longer than the Longhorns between both titles, waiting 24 years to claim their second crown. The first title was led by the same Mick Haley that took Southern California to repeat championships nearly 20 years later. 

Pacific (1985, 1986): Pacific went 75-6 between 1985 and 1986 to claim its only two national championships. Those teams were led by John Dunning before he headed to Stanford. 

Stanford wins 2019 Volleyball National Championship


Subscribe To Email Updates

Enter your information to receive emails about offers, promotions from NCAA.com and our partners