Dec. 1, 2008


INDIANAPOLIS- - -The NCAA Men's Water Polo Committee announced today the four teams participating in the 2008 National Collegiate Men's Water Polo Championship.  This year's championship, hosted by Stanford University, will be held December 6-7.

In the first game, the University of Southern California (27-0) will play U.S. Naval Academy (20-9).  The second game will match Loyola Marymount University (20-9) versus Stanford University (24-5).  Game times are 5:00 p.m. and 6:45 p.m. Pacific Standard time respectively on December 6.  The third-place game will be played at 1:00 p.m. Pacific Standard time on December 7 with the championship game at 3:00 p.m. Pacific Standard time.  The national championship game will be televised live on CBS College Sports Network.

Conferences receiving automatic qualification included the:  Collegiate Water Polo Association, Mountain Pacific Sports Federation and the Western Water Polo Association.  The remaining team was selected at-large without geographical restrictions.

Last year, California defeated Southern California 8-6 to capture the championship.  For updated championship results, log on to