waterpolo-men-nc flag

NCAA.com | November 24, 2014

Field of six contenders announced for 2014 NC Water Polo Championship

INDIANAPOLIS -- The NCAA Men’s Water Polo Committee announced Monday the six teams vying for the 2014 National Collegiate Men’s Water Polo Championship.

Interactive Bracket Printable Bracket

The top two seeds have been placed in the bracket; the remaining four teams will compete for the last two berths in the bracket via two play-in games. The play-in games will be Nov. 29, and the championship will be held Dec. 6 and 7, hosted by UC San Diego.

In the first play-in game, No. 4 seed UC San Diego (15-9) will play host to No. 5 seed Brown (26-6). The winner will be placed in the championship bracket to play No. 1 seed UCLA (27-3).

In the second play-in game, No. 3 seed Southern California (22-6) will play host to No. 6 seed Whittier (23-12), with the winner advancing to the championship bracket to play No. 2 seed Stanford (25-3).

Game times for the play-in games are yet to be determined. Game times for the championship are 4 p.m. and 6:12 p.m. ET Dec. 6. The third-place game will be played at 4 p.m. Dec. 7, with the championship game at 6:12 p.m. The four championship games will be played at Canyonview Pool in La Jolla, California, and streamed live on NCAA.com.

Conferences receiving automatic qualification included the Collegiate Water Polo Association, the Mountain Pacific Sports Federation, the Southern California Intercollegiate Athletic Conference and the Western Water Polo Association. The remaining two teams were selected at-large without geographical restrictions.

2021 National Collegiate Men’s Water Polo Championship Selections

The field for the 2021 National Collegiate Men’s Water Polo Championship have been announced and the tournament will begin on Nov. 27.

Subscribe To Email Updates

Enter your information to receive emails about offers, promotions from NCAA.com and our partners