May 3, 2010



Live Bracket | Printable Bracket

INDIANAPOLIS---The NCAA Women's Water Polo Committee has announced the teams that will participate in the 2010 National Collegiate Women's Water Polo Championship.

The Championship will be held May 14-16 at the Aztec Aquaplex, in San Diego, California. San Diego State University will serve as the host institution.

The 2010 National Collegiate Women's Water Polo Championship will be an eight-team, single-elimination tournament (12 games), with a losers' bracket to determine places three through eight.

The No. 1 seed was awarded to Stanford (24-2) and the No. 2 seed was awarded to Southern California (22-3). Southern California will face No. 7 seed Marist (18-15) on May 14 in the first game of the championship at 12:30 p.m. The next game will feature No. 3 seed, UCLA (20-7) and No. 6 seed Loyola Marymount (27-4) at 2:15 p.m. Stanford (24-2) will face No. 8 seed Pomona-Pitzer (18-14) in the third game of the day at 4 p.m. The final contest of the night will pit No. 5 seed Michigan (32-6) against No. 4 seed California (24-8) at 5:45 p.m.

The following conferences and institutions received automatic qualification: Collegiate Water Polo Association, Michigan; Metro Atlantic Athletic Conference, Marist; Mountain Pacific Sports Federation, UCLA; Southern California Intercollegiate Athletic Conference, Pomona-Pitzer; and Western Water Polo Association, Loyola Marymount. The following institutions received at-large bids to the championship field: California, Southern California and Stanford.

For more information about the National Collegiate Women's Water Polo Championship and the 2010 championship bracket, log on to