Printable Bracket
Interactive Bracket

INDIANAPOLIS -- The NCAA Women’s Water Polo Committee has announced the teams that will participate in the 2012 National Collegiate Women’s Water Polo Championship.

The championship will be held May 11-13 at the Aztec Aquaplex, in San Diego, with San Diego State serving as the host school. The championship will be an eight-team, single-elimination tournament (total of 12 games) with a losers’ bracket to determine places three through eight.

Automatic qualifiers were awarded to the Big West Conference (UC Irvine), Collegiate Water Polo Association (Princeton), Metro Atlantic Athletic Conference (Iona), Mountain Pacific Sports Federation (UCLA), Southern California Intercollegiate Athletic Conference (Pomona-Pitzer) and the Western Water Polo Association (Loyola Marymount). Stanford and Southern California received at-large bids to the championship field.

The No. 1 seed was awarded to Stanford (23-2) and the No. 2 seed was awarded to UCLA (21-3). UCLA will face No. 7 seed Iona (24-11) May 11 in the first game of the championship at 3 p.m. ET. The next game will feature No. 3 seed Southern California (21-5) and No. 6 seed Princeton (28-4) at 4:45 p.m. ET followed by Stanford and Pomona-Pitzer (21-16) in the third game of the day at 6:30 p.m. ET.  The final contest of the day will pit No. 5 seed Loyola Marymount (20-9) against No. 4 seed UC Irvine (24-6) at 8:15 p.m. ET.