Interactive Printable


INDIANAPOLIS -- The NCAA Women’s Water Polo Committee has announced the teams that will participate in the 2013 National Collegiate Women’s Water Polo Championship.

The championship will be held May 10-12 at Blodgett Pool in Boston. Harvard will serve as the host institution.

The 2013 National Collegiate Women’s Water Polo Championship will be an eight-team, single-elimination tournament (12 games), with a losers’ bracket to determine places three through eight. Automatic qualifiers were awarded to the Big West Conference (Hawaii), Collegiate Water Polo Association (Princeton), Metro Atlantic Athletic Conference (Iona), Mountain Pacific Sports Federation (Southern California), Southern California Intercollegiate Athletic Conference (Pomona-Pitzer) and the Western Water Polo Association (UC San Diego). The following institutions received at-large bids to the championship field: UCLA, and Stanford.

The No. 1 seed was awarded to Southern California (24-1) and the No. 2 seed was awarded to Stanford (27-2).  Stanford, the two-time defending national champion, will face No. 7 seed Iona (21-8) May 10 in the first game of the championship at 1:45 p.m. ET. The next game will feature No. 3 seed UCLA (26-6) and No. 6 seed Princeton (26-5) at 3:30 p.m. Southern California will face Pomona-Pitzer (18-16) in the third game of the day at 5:15 p.m. The final contest of the day will pit No. 5 seed UC San Diego (25-13) against No. 4 seed Hawaii (21-9) at 7 p.m.

UCLA12201226-47 (2001, 2003, 2005-09)
UC San Diego220111-2--
Southern California10201218-82 (2004, 2010)
Stanford13201223-93 (2002, 2011-12)
*Includes 2013 season.