waterpolo-women-nc flag

NCAA.com | April 29, 2014

Field released for NC water polo championship

INDIANAPOLIS -- The NCAA Women’s Water Polo Committee has announced the 10 teams that will be vying for the 2014 National Collegiate Women’s Water Polo Championship.

The top six teams have been placed in the bracket; the remaining four teams will compete for the last two berths in the bracket via two play-in games.

The play-in games will be conducted May 3 on the campuses of the higher-seeded teams. The winners will advance to the championship, which will be held May 9-11 at the Uytengsu Aquatics Center in Los Angeles. Southern California will serve as the host institution. The 2014 championship will be an eight-team, single-elimination tournament (12 games), with a losers’ bracket to determine places three through eight.

In the play-in games, No. 7 seed UC San Diego (26-10) will play No. 10 seed Pomona-Pitzer (23-13). The winner will be placed in the championship bracket to play No. 2 seed UCLA (25-4). In the other play-in game, No. 8 seed Indiana (22-5) will be paired with No. 9 seed Wagner (25-11), with the winner advancing to the championship bracket to play No. 1 seed Stanford (22-1).

Rounding out the bracket with will be No. 3 seed Southern California (24-3) facing No. 6 seed UC Irvine (24-7), and No. 4 seed California (19-8) competing against No. 5 seed Arizona State (15-10).

Please reference the championship bracket for all game times.

Automatic qualifiers were awarded to the Big West Conference (UC Irvine), Collegiate Water Polo Association (Indiana), Metro Atlantic Athletic Conference (Wagner), Mountain Pacific Sports Federation (Stanford), Southern California Intercollegiate Athletic Conference (Pomona-Pitzer) and the Western Water Polo Association (UC San Diego). The remaining four teams were selected at-large without geographical restrictions.

Selection Show Replay

2021 NC women's water polo championship selections announced

The NCAA Women’s Water Polo Committee announced on Monday the 10 teams vying for the 2021 NC women’s water polo championship.

Kap7 extends partnership with NCAA as the exclusive and official championship water polo game ball provider

KAP7 International, Inc. (KAP7) has renewed its partnership with the National Collegiate Athletic Association (NCAA) as the exclusive and official championship water polo game ball through the 2024-25 championships.

Subscribe To Email Updates

Enter your information to receive emails about offers, promotions from NCAA.com and our partners