waterpolo-women-nc flag

NCAA | May 1, 2017

Women's Water Polo Championship selections announced

NC Women's Water Polo: 2017 Selection Show

INDIANAPOLIS — The NCAA Women’s Water Polo Committee has announced the 10 teams that will be vying for the 2017 National Collegiate Women’s Water Polo Championship. Six teams have been placed in the bracket; the remaining four teams will compete for the last two berths in the bracket via two opening-round games.

 View the 2017 interactive bracket | Printable version

The opening-round games will be conducted Saturday, May 6. The winners will advance to the championship, which will be held May 12-14 at the IU Natatorium on the campus of IUPUI in Indianapolis. Indiana University and the Indiana Sports Corp will serve as hosts. The 2017 championship will be an eight-team, single-elimination tournament (seven games).

In the opening-round games, UC San Diego (19-14) will host Wagner (25-10). The winner will be placed in the championship bracket to play top-seeded UCLA (22-1) in Game 1. In the other opening-round game, Pacific (20-8) will host Pomona-Pitzer (17-18), with the winner advancing to the championship bracket to play No. 2 Stanford (20-3) in Game 3.

Rounding out the bracket will be No. 4 UC Irvine (23-6) facing California (15-9) in Game 2 and No. 3 Southern California (28-3) competing against Michigan (28-8) in Game 4. Please reference the championship bracket for all game times.

Automatic qualifiers were awarded to the Big West Conference (UC Irvine), Collegiate Water Polo Association (Michigan), Golden Coast Conference (Pacific), Metro Atlantic Athletic Conference (Wagner), Mountain Pacific Sports Federation (UCLA), Southern California Intercollegiate Athletic Conference (Pomona-Pitzer), and the Western Water Polo Association (UC San Diego). The remaining three teams were selected at large without geographical restrictions.

For more information about the National Collegiate Women’s Water Polo Championship and the 2017 championship bracket, log on to NCAA.com.