waterpolo-women-nc flag

NCAA.com | April 30, 2018

Women's water polo championship selections revealed

NC Women's Water Polo: 2018 Selection Show

INDIANAPOLIS —The NCAA Women’s Water Polo Committee has announced the 10 teams that will be vying for the 2018 National Collegiate Women’s Water Polo Championship. Six teams have been placed in the bracket; the remaining four teams will compete for the last two berths in the bracket via two opening-round games.

The opening-round games will be conducted Tuesday, May 8 at the Uytengsu Aquatics Center on the campus of the University of Southern California. The winners will advance to the championship, which will be held May 11-13 also at the Uytengsu Aquatics Center. The 2018 championship will be an eight-team, single-elimination tournament (seven games).

RELATED: 2018 NC Women's Water Polo bracket 

In the opening round games, UC San Diego (24-11) will play Wagner (24-6). The winner will be placed in the championship bracket to play Southern California (23-1) in Game 1. In the other opening round game, UC Irvine (14-13) will play Pomona-Pitzer (21-10), with the winner advancing to the championship bracket to play Stanford (18-3) in Game 3.

Rounding out the bracket will be UCLA (22-7) facing Pacific (18-7) in Game 2 and California (19-5) competing against Michigan (32-8) in Game 4. Please reference the championship bracket for all game times.

No. 1 Southern California MPSF automatic bid
No. 2 Stanford At-large qualifier
No. 3 California At-large qualifier
No. 4 UCLA At-large qualifier
UC Irvine Big West automatic bid
UC San Diego WWPA automatic bid
Wagner MAAC automatic bid
Pacific Golden Coast Conference automatic bid
Pomona-Pitzer SCIAC automatic bid
Michigan CWPA automatic bid

Automatic qualifiers were awarded to the Big West Conference (UC Irvine), Collegiate Water Polo Association (Michigan), Golden Coast Conference (Pacific), Metro Atlantic Athletic Conference (Wagner), Mountain Pacific Sports Federation (Southern California), Southern California Intercollegiate Athletic Conference (Pomona-Pitzer) and the Western Water Polo Association (UC San Diego). The remaining three teams were selected at large without geographical restrictions.

For more information about the National Collegiate Women’s Water Polo Championship and the 2018 championship bracket, log on to ncaa.com.

Stanford wins the 2023 NC women's water polo championship

Stanford wins its ninth national title as the Cardinal wins the 2023 NC water polo national championship in back-to-back years.

2023 National Collegiate Women’s Water Polo Championship Selections

The NCAA Women’s Water Polo Committee announces the nine teams that will compete for the 2023 national championship.