Nov. 21, 2008

OMAHA, Neb. - UNO will host the Kaufman-Brand Open on Saturday, Nov. 22 at the Lee & Helene Sapp Fieldhouse. The meet, the largest one-day collegiate tournament in the nation, will get underway at 9 a.m. and will feature some of the top wrestlers and teams in the nation among all divisions. More than 700 wrestlers from approximately 40 teams are expected to compete.

Records & Rankings
The Mavericks are ranked No. 1 in the National Wrestling Coaches Association Division II pre-season poll and eight Mavs are among the top eight in individual rankings.

Senior Ross Taplin, a national runner-up last year, was the preseason pick as the top wrestler in the 174 pound weight class.  Junior Cody Garcia, who is a two-time national champion at 125 pounds, is ranked second at 133.

Other UNO wrestlers ranked in their weight class include:
8. Mario Morgan, 141
8. Esai Dominguez, 149
4, Aaron Denson, 165
2. Austin Boehm, 184
3. Jacob Marrs, 197
5. Tony Lewis, 285

The Coach
Mike Denney is in his 30th season as the Maverick head coach. The Dakota Wesleyan graduate has a 276-109-5 career mark. He has twice been named the NCAA II National Coach of the Year and led the 1991, 2004, 2005, and 2006 Mavericks to NCAA II national championships. Denney has coached 157 All-Americans and 28 national champions during his career.

Last Week
Junior All-American Jacob Marrs finished in third place at 197 pounds with a 5-1 record to pace the top-ranked Maverick wrestlers Saturday at the Harold Nichols Open on the campus of Iowa State University. No team scores were kept in the meet.

Sophomore Aaron Denson (174) placed fourth with a 4-2 mark, while redshirt freshman Esai Dominguez was fifth at 149 pounds, finishing 4-2 on the day.

Other notable UNO performances included unattached wrestlers Ross Taplin (174) who placed third with a  5-1 record and heavyweight freshman Elijah Madison, who was second, finishing 4-1 in the meet.

On Deck
UNO will travel to Cedar Falls, Iowa to compete in the Northern Iowa Open on Saturday, Dec. 7 beginning at 9 a.m.