Feb. 21, 2010

Courtesy of TCNJ

Ewing, NJ... The College of New Jersey earned its second Metropolitan Wrestling Conference title in the last three years as the Lions held off defending champion Wilkes University on Sunday at Packer Hall.

TCNJ collected 110 points with the Colonels taking second with 93. Rounding out the team scoring were Elizabethtown College (72.5), Centenary College (53.5), New York University (40), King's College (39.5), York (PA) College (35.5), Hunter College (31), and the University of Scranton (2).

The winners from each of the 10 weight classes in addition to three "wild card" selections are headed to the 2010 NCAA Division III Championships set for March 5-6 at the U.S. Cellular Center in Cedar Rapids, Iowa.

At 125, Elizabethtown's Tyler Erdman won his second straight conference title as he rolled to a 17-0 technical win in 2:14 beating Scott Mantua of Wilkes University.

Centenary's William Livingston claimed the crown at 133 pounds as he pulled out a 7-2 victory over TCNJ's Dan Herr.

The top two seeds clashed in the finals at 141 pounds as top-seeded Greg Martino from New York University scored a takedown in the final minute to slip past TCNJ's John Barnett, 4-2.

Elizabethtown's Tye Boyer knocked off top-seeded Anthony Dattolo from Wilkes 4-2 to claim the title at 149 pounds.

New York University's Matt Magill capped his impressive tournament with a 5-3 win over King's College's Taylor Green in the finals at 157. All three of Magill's wins came against seeded wrestlers and he was recognized as the tournament's Most Outstanding Wrestler.

Kyle Packer secured TCNJ's first individual title at 165 pounds as the sophomore pinned Centenary's Matt Regan in 2:02. Packer finished the tournament 3-0 as the second seed.

In another final bout pitting the top two seeds against each other, the 174 title went to second-seeded Frank Heffernan from Wilkes as he scored two late back points to pull out at 5-3 win over top seeded Brian Broderick from TCNJ. Those three wins give the 2009 All-American 30 victories on the season, while Broderick also hit the 30-win plateau during the tournament.

Junior Mike Denver garnered TCNJ's second title winning the 184-pound weight class. Denver pinned York's Martocello in 2:55 to earn his first trip to nationals. Denver won all three of his matches in the tournament improving to 42-2 on the season as he became just the fifth Lion grappler to rack up 40 wins in a season. The last TCNJ to reach that mark was Paul Vaccaro in the 2002-03 season.

Zach Pizarro from Wilkes successfully defended his title from a year ago at 197 pounds as the senior topped third-seeded Bill Meaney from Elizabethtown, 9-4. Pizarro is now 31-3 on the season.

In the tournament's final bout, TCNJ's Ed Broderick scored two points in overtime to pull out a 7-5 victory against Andrew Feldman from Wilkes.

Elizabethtown head coach Eric Walker was honored by his peers as the 2010 Metropolitan Conference Coach of the Year, while Elizabethtown's Dan Bechtold (E'town) and TCNJ's Joe Pollard were named Co-Assistant Coaches of the Year.

The final end-of-the-year award also had co-winners as Brian Broderick and Boyer shared Rookie of the Year honors.

Earning at-large bids to the tournament were Green, Herr, and Meaney.

125: Tyler Erdman (E'town) tech. fall over Scott Mantua (Wilkes), 17-0 (2:14)
133: William Livingston (Centenary) dec. Dan Herr (TCNJ), 7-2
141: Gregg Martino (NYU) dec. John Barnett (TCNJ), 4-2
149: Tye Boyer (E'town) dec. Anthony Dattolo (Wilkes), 4-2
157: Matt Magill (NYU) dec. Taylor Green (King's), 5-4
165: Kyle Packer (TCNJ) pinned Matt Regan (Centenary), 2:02
174: Frank Heffernan (Wilkes) dec. Brian Broderick (TCNJ) 5-3
184: Mike Denver (TCNJ) pinned Alex Martocello (York), 2:55
197: Zach Pizarro (Wilkes) dec. Bill Meaney (E'town), 9-4
285: Ed Broderick (TCNJ) dec. Andrew Feldman (Wilkes) 7-5 OT
* The winner of each weight class earns an automatic bid to the 2010 NCAA Division III Tournament.

2010 Metropolitan Conference "Wild Cards"
157: Taylor Green (King's)
133: Dan Herr (TCNJ)
197: William Meaney (Elizabethtown)

NCAA Alternates:
1. Eduardo Delgardo (Hunter) - 157
2. Alex Martocello (York) - 184
3. John Stillo (Centenary) - 149

2010 Metropolitan Conference Most Outstanding Wrestler: Matt Magill (NYU)
2010 Metropolitan Conference Rookie of the Year: Brian Broderick (TCNJ) & Tye Boyer (E'town)
2010 Metropolitan Conference Coach of the Year: Eric Walker (Elizabethtown College)
2010 Metropolitan Conference Assistant Coach of the Year: Dan Bechtold (E'town) & Joe Pollard (TCNJ)