Feb. 21, 2010

Courtesy of Western New England

SPRINGFIELD, Mass. - Junior All-American Ryan Malo (Georgetown, MA) successfully defended his title at the 197-lb. weight class to lead Williams College to its second straight team title at the 32nd Annual New England Wrestling Association (NEWA) Championship Sunday night (Feb. 21).

The Alumni Healthful Living Center on the Western New England College campus was the site of the championship.

Malo captured all five of his matches by pins to help the Ephs' finish with 128.5 points. Springfield was second (100.5) while Johnson & Wales (95) and Wesleyan (95) tied for third.

Bridgewater State finished fifth after seniors John Marsh (New Bedford, MA) and Frank Cammisa (Danbury, CT) captured the 149 and 157-lb. titles, respectively.

Wesleyan had two champions, senior Dan Bloom (Sharon, MA)who claimed the 125-lb. title for the second straight year, and senior Greg Hurd (New Hartford, NY) in the 174 weight class.

Two Southern Maine performers also finished first, senior Mike Morin (Fryeburg, ME), who repeated at 165 pounds, and junior Matt Ulrich (Garfield, NJ) at 141.

Springfield freshman Joe Grippi (Bedford Hills, NY) took home the 133-lb. title in his first attempt.

Johnson & Wales junior Brennan Ward (Waterford, CT) was the 184-lb. champion.

Western New England College freshman Jamison Sacco (Syracuse, NY) had an impressive showing in his rookie season. He received an opening round bye in the 285-lb. weight class, then proceeded to win his next four matches by pin in a combined 2 minutes, 50 seconds. Sacco was voted the NEWA Rookie-of-the-Year.

WNEC freshman Anthony Medina (Springfield, MA) finished fourth in the 133-lb. weight class after posting a 3-2 record in the tournament.

Malo and Marsh was selected the Co-Wrestlers-of-the-Year in the NEWA.

Drew Black of Wesleyan was named the NEWA Coach-of-the-Year.

The wild-card selections announced a couple of hours after the ended were Rhode Island College  junior Kevin Sutherland (Dauphin, PA) (149); Williams junior Corey Paulish (Ridgefield, CT) (149), Williams senior Carl Breitenstein (Delanson, NY) (157), and Johnson & Wales freshman Colin Lenhardt (Hayes, VA) (174).

Williams freshman Cesare Antista (Matawan, NJ) (133) was the first alternate followed by Southern Maine senior Doug Christensen (Middletown, NY) (174), and Bridgewater State junior Zach Bates (Leyden, MA) (174).

Team Scores - 1. Williams 128.5, 2. Springfield 100.5, 3. tie between Johnson & Wales 95 and Wesleyan 95, 5. Bridgewater State 88.5, 6. Southern Maine 82, 7. Rhode Island College 78, 8. Roger Williams 46, 9. Plymouth State 42.5, 10. Western New England College 41, 11. Trinity 39.5, 12. WPI 25, 13. Coast Guard 15, 14. Norwich 2.5.

2010 NEWA Individual Champions

125 - Dan Bloom (Wesleyan) def. Carl Anderson (WPI), 2-1
("If" match between Bloom and Anderson follows the 285-lb. weight class)
133 - Joe Grippi (Springfield) def. Cesare Antista (Williams), 7-4
141 - Matt Ulrich (Southern Maine) def.  Dylan Rittenburg (Williams), 6-2
149 - John Marsh (Bridgewater State) def. Kevin Sutherland (Rhode Island College), 3-1
157 - Frank Cammisa (Bridgewater State) def. Carl Breitenstein (Williams), 7-3
165 - Mike Morin (Southern Maine) def. Josh Berkovic (Wesleyan), 10-3
174 - Greg Hurd (Wesleyan) def. Zach Bates (Bridgewater State), 6-4
184 - Brennan Ward (Johnson & Wales) def. Jeremy Burns (Springfield), 7-5
197 - Ryan Malo (Williams) pinned Nick Cambi (Roger Williams), 4:11
Hwt. - Jamison Sacco (Western New England College) pinned Tom Foote (Williams), 0:27
125 - Dan Bloom (Wesleyan) def.  Carl Anderson (WPI), 6-2

The 10 individual champions along with four wild-card selections will advance to the NCAA Division III Championship March 5-6 in Cedar Rapids, Iowa.

There will be a coaches meeting following the Awards Ceremony to determine the wild-card selections. Their names will be posted as quickly as possible.

2010 Awards

NEWA Hall of Fame - Coach - Pete Hexter (Massachusetts Maritime). Wrestlers - Leon Dunnam (Massachusetts Maritime), Jesse Morrison (Western New England College), Keith Poloskey (Springfield), Tommy Prairie (Williams), Tim Sullivan (Western New England College), Mike Tobin (Massachusetts Maritime)
Administrator-of-the-Year - Dr. Richard W. Schneider, Rear Admiral USCGR, President, Norwich University
Team Sportsmanship Award - Roger Williams and WPI
Highest Team GPA - Wesleyan
Coach-of-the-Year - Drew Black (Wesleyan)
Assistant Coach-of-the-Year - Julio Santiago (Southern Maine)
Man-of-the-Year - Jim Peckham (Emerson)
Most Falls in the Least Amount of Time - 5, Ryan Malo (Williams)
Fastest Fall - Jamison Sacco (Western New England College) (14 seconds)
Co-Most Outstanding Wrestlers-of-the-Year - Ryan Malo (Williams), John Marsh (Bridgewater State)
Rookie Wrestler-of-the-Year - Jamison Sacco (Western New England College)