Feb. 22, 2010

Courtesy of Wis.-Lacrosse

Stevens Point, Wis. - The University of Wisconsin-La Crosse wrestling team captured its 13th consecutive Wisconsin Intercollegiate Athletic Conference (WIAC) Championship Sunday night in UW-Stevens Point's Quandt Fieldhouse. It is the Eagles' league-best 14th title in school history. UW-L finished with 154 team points while UW-Whitewater was second with 118.0 and UW-Stevens Point third with 117.0.

UW-Platteville placed fourth (105.5) while UW-Oshkosh was fifth (90.5) and UW-Eau Claire sixth (63.0).

Seven UW-L wrestlers claimed conference titles Sunday. Dan Laurent became the fourth wrestler in WIAC history to earn four straight 285-pound championships with a 5-2 victory over UW-Whitewater's Jon Schmidt. Laurent joins UW-Whitewater Tim Carmin (1979-82), UW-Stevens Point's Perry Miller (1995-98) and UW-L's Ryan Allen (2003-06) as four-time winners. Laurent went 3-0 overall to claim the 2010 title and was also selected the 2010 Max Sparger Scholar-Athlete.

The Eagles' Matt Mauseth became the first individual to win three consecutive crowns at 149-pounds with a 3-2 decision over Kris Magruder of UW-Stevens Point. Mauseth finished 2-0 on the day.

Albie McKinney took his second straight first-place medal at 125-pounds Sunday after a win by fall (2:44) over UW-Stevens Point's Joe Mileski. McKinney, who went 3-0 to claim the title, was named the 2010 John Peterson Wrestler of the Meet for his performance.

At 174-pounds, Mike Schmitz won his second consecutive crown with a 8-0 major decision victory over UW-Oshkosh's Sam Engelland. Schmitz went 2-0 Sunday to win the title.

Bebeto Yewah won the 133-pound championship with a 15-6 major decision victory over Kyle Wachholder of UW-Stevens Point. Cory Ferguson took the 165-pound division with a 22-9 major decision win over UW-Stevens Point's Jordan Schulte while Andy Moore captured the 197-pound title with a 9-3 victory over UW-Whitewater's Adam Latella. Yewah went 2-0 Sunday while Ferguson and Moore each finished 3-0 en route to their league crowns.

The seven champions earn automatic berths to the NCAA Division III Championships.

UW-L's Alex Dahl, Ryan Farwell and Mitch Artist each finished second Sunday. Dahl went 1-1 at 141-pounds, falling 4-2 in double overtime to UW-Whitewater's Austin Bautista in the championship match. Farwell, who was selected to the All-WIAC Sportsmanship Team, was 2-1 at 157-pounds on the day, losing 7-0 to Jesse Milks of UW-Platteville for the title. Artist finished 1-1 at 184-pounds, falling 5-0 to UW-Stevens Point's Ben Engelland for the crown.

Dahl, Farwell and Artist did not receive one of the nine at-large selections to the national championships voted on by the conference coaches.

UW-L's Dave Malecek was voted the Mertz Mortorelli Coach of the Year for the fourth consecutive season.

UW-L returns to action Friday, March 5 at the NCAA Division III Championships in Cedar Rapids, Iowa.