INDIANAPOLIS -- Fifth-ranked Newberry won the team title at the 32nd annual Midwest Classic, posting 169 team points to race by Upper Iowa and North Carolina-Pembroke. UIU, ranked 10th in the current coaches poll, was second with 133 points and UNCP was third with 102.5 points.

Newberry posted two title wins with top-seed Bryant Blanton earning a fall in the championship match at 184 pounds. He pinned second-seeded Michael Johnson of Lincoln in 1:20. Blanton was joined by Dale DeBacco at 149 pounds, who had a bye, a fall in 0:38, a 13-2 victory and a forfeit to reach the final. In the championship, DeBacco took the crown with a 7-4 victory over third-seeded Jake Strausbaugh of Wabash.  

Ohio Northern also had two individual champions, with No. 1-seed Luke Miller posting a 4-2 win over Mike Williams of UNCP in the 165 pound final. Top-seeded Kevin Kwiat added a 6-2 victory at 174 pounds.

Host University of Indanapolis finished 10th in the 21-team field. Indianpolis' Nick Walphole had three falls, the most of the tournament, although the top seed at 157 finished fifth.

Upper Iowa's Carl Broghammer won the 197 pound title with a 3-1 sudden victory over UNCP's Shane Nolan. Broghammer was one of two Peacocks in the final, as top-seeded Kyle Pedretti reached the last match at 133 pounds with 5-4 victories in the quarterfinal and semifinal round before losing to third-seeded Tim Thurston of Campbellsville.