Nebraska senior Jordan Burroughs on Friday was named winner of the 2011 Hodge Trophy, given annually to the nation’s most outstanding wrestler. Burroughs was given the award after finishing the season 36-0 and winning his school-record second national championship. A native of Sicklerville, N.J., Burroughs becomes the first Husker to receive the award.

The Hodge Trophy was created by Mike Chapman, the founder of Wrestling Insider News magazine, and has been given out annually to the nation’s top wrestler since 1995. The Hodge Trophy is often refereed to as the “Heisman Trophy of Wrestling.”

Burroughs put himself ahead of the pack with his dominating performance at the 2011 NCAA Championships in Philadelphia. Burroughs outscored his five opponents 71-24 with two technical falls, two major decisions and a default victory. In the finals, Burroughs won the 165-pound title, defeating Oklahoma's Tyler Caldwell by major decision 11-3.

Burroughs finished his career at Nebraska with a record of 128-20-0, which places him fourth on the school's all-time wins chart, while also ranking inside the top 10 in career win-loss percentage, dual wins, dual win-loss percentage, and season falls.