TEMPE, Ariz. -- Oklahoma State wrestlers Jordan Oliver and Jamal Parks each earned wins Monday night at the 46th Annual NWCA All-Star Classic.

Oliver, the top-ranked wrestler in the country at 133 pounds, earned an 8-7 decision against third-ranked B.J. Futrell of Illinois. It was Oliver's second win at the event, as he also defeated Andrew Hochstrasser of Boise State in 2010.

The defending national champion got off to a quick start as he took down Futrell and rode him for the remainder of the first period to earn a 1:57 riding time advantage. After choosing down to start period No. 2, Oliver escaped in just five seconds to take a 3-0 lead into the third period.

The third period saw much more scoring. Futrell started the period down and earned a quick escape to pick up his first point and make the score 3-1. The pair then traded takedowns with Futrell getting the last to bring the score to 7-7 at the close of the third period. Thanks to Oliver’s riding time advantage, he picked up the extra point to win by a final score of 8-7.

Parks, ranked second at 149 pounds, originally was scheduled to face fifth-ranked Tyler Nauman of Pittsburgh, but instead squared off against Arizona State’s Joel Smith. The senior All-American made quick work of Smith to win a 17-4 major decision.

Parks jumped out to a 9-2 lead in the first period after recording three takedowns and a nearfall. He added another takedown in the second and two more in the third to make it 16-4 and earned the extra point with his riding time advantage.

The event, hosted by Arizona State, is an exhibition that annually features some of the top wrestlers from across the country. This marks the second consecutive season Oklahoma State has claimed two winners at the event, after Oliver and Clayton Foster won in 2010.

Weight Matchup Score
125 No. 4 Nic Bedelyon (Kent State) def. No. 3 Jarrod Patterson (Oklahoma) 7-3
133 No. 1 Jordan Oliver (Oklahoma State) def. No. 3 B.J. Futrell (Illinois) 8-7
141 No. 2 Boris Novachkov (Cal Poly) def. No. 4 Zach Kemmerer (Penn)  4-0
149 No. 3 Jamal Parks (Oklahoma State) maj. dec. Joel Smith (Arizona State)  17-4
157 No. 3 Jason Welch (Northwestern) def. No. 4 Ganbayar Sanjaa (American)  8-5
165 No. 3 Josh Asper (Maryland) def. No. 2 Shane Onufer (Wyoming) 6-4
174 No match  
184 No. 6 Joe LeBlanc (Wyoming) def. No. 8 Ben Bennett (Central Michigan) 5-4
197 No. 4 Chris Honeycutt (Edinboro) pinned No. 1 Byron Tate (DIII Wartburg)  :32
285 No. 2 Ryan Flores (American) def. No. 6 Spencer Myers (Maryland)  11-2