STILLWATER, Okla. – Oklahoma State great Myron W. Roderick passed away Wednesday after creating an immense legacy as a student-athlete, coach and athletic director.

The Winfield Kan., native began his storied history with OSU athletics as a wrestler from 1953-56, when he also earned three letters as a tennis player.

In three years of collegiate wrestling competition, Roderick won 42 of his 44 matches and earned three NCAA individual titles, with one coming at the 137-pound class and two more at 130. He continued his career at the 1956 Olympic Games, where he lost a split decision to the eventual champion.

At 23, Roderick took over the program and, just one year after winning his last individual NCAA title, became the youngest coach in any sport to guide a team to an NCAA championship.

His teams continued his success and dominated the world of collegiate wrestling for 13 years, posting a 140-10-7 dual record on the way to 13 Big 8 Conference titles and seven NCAA team championships.

He was named the NCAA wrestling coach of the year on three occasions and produced 20 individual NCAA champions and three Olympic gold medalists. He received the two highest amateur wrestling awards when he won Man of the Year in 1971 and when he was inducted into the National Wrestling Hall of Fame.

He also served as the head coach of the Cowboy tennis program from 1958-1967, claiming a 105-23-1 dual record and six conference titles.

As an athletic director, Roderick guided the program at Oklahoma State for seven years from 1983-90. Under his direction, OSU athletic teams won more than 30 Big 8 championships, as well as four NCAA championships.

Roderick was born on Sept. 15, 1934, in Anthony, Kan. He won back-to-back wrestling state championships before attending OSU.

Roderick left Oklahoma State 1969 to become executive director of the United States Wrestling Federation, of which he was co-founder. He resigned from that position in 1974 to enter private business and then became executive director of the United States Racquetball Federation. He returned to OSU in 1983 as the university’s eighth athletic director.