• The first NCAA Wrestling Championships were held in Ames, Iowa, in 1928. No official team scoring was kept but Oklahoma State crowned four individual champions and was later declared the unofficial team champion.

• 2012 marks the 12th time that the NCAA Division I Wrestling Championships will be held in the state of Iowa. Iowa hosted the event in 1959, 1986, 1994 and 2001. Iowa State, who hosts for the eighth time in 2012, previously hosted in 1928, 1966, 1974, 1982, 1996, 2002 and 2007.

• The fastest fall recorded in NCAA history (using Olympic Rules) was 5.5 seconds by Oklahoma State’s 145-pounder Harley Strong versus St. Lawrence’s John Hamilton in 1936.

• In 1941, the NCAA Wrestling Committee introduced a point system to determine the winner of bouts. Takedowns and reversals were worth two points and an escape one point. Near falls were worth four points. In addition, time advantage points were awarded and penalties were given for stalling.

• The NCAA Wrestling Championships were not held from 1943-45 because of the United States’ involvement in World War II.

• In 1947, Cornell College scored 32 points to become the first and only private school to win a NCAA team title in wrestling.

• In 1955, team scoring was adjusted to award 7, 5, 3 and 1 point, respectively, for first, second, third and fourth-place finishes. In addition an advancement point was awarded for championship and consolation bouts.

• The NCAA Wrestling Championships have been held on the West Coast just twice in the tournament’s history. Oregon State played host both times, welcoming wrestling’s elite to Corvallis in 1961 and 1980.

• The NCAA split its wrestling tournament into two divisions – the College Division and the University Division in 1963. The College Division was held one week prior to the University Division and schools were allowed to enter both tournaments. Western State won the inaugural College Division and Oklahoma took home top honors in the University Division.

• Iowa owns the NCAA scoring record, claiming the 1997 team championship with 170 points. The Hawkeyes tallied the impressive total behind five individual titles from Jesse Whitmer, Mark Ironside, Lincoln McIlravy, Joe Williams and Lee Fullhart.

• In 2002, Iowa State’s Cael Sanderson cemented his position as the greatest wrestler in NCAA history, finishing his collegiate career with a fourth consecutive NCAA titles and a perfect 159-0 record. He is also the only wrestler in history to win four consecutive NCAA Outstanding Wrestler Awards.

• An all-time single session record crowd of 18,919 was on hand for the finals of the 2012 Division I Wrestling Championships in St. Louis, Mo. The all-time total attendance record was also set that year as 112,393 fans came through the turnstiles during the six sessions of the championships.

• Of the 82 NCAA team championships awarded in wrestling, only 10 of those titles have gone to schools outside the states of Iowa and Oklahoma (Indiana – 1932; Cornell – 1947; Penn State – 1953, 2011 and 2012; Michigan St. – 1967; Arizona St. – 1988; Minnesota – 2001, 2002 and 2007).

• Oklahoma State has won a record 34 NCAA Wrestling Championships, 11 more than the next closet team, Iowa, who has won 23 championships.

• Oklahoma State has finished in the top 10 at the NCAA Division I Wrestling Championships more than any other program in history, having done so a NCAA-leading 79 times.

• Under the direction of the legendary Dan Gable, Iowa won a NCAA record nine consecutive national championships from 1978-86.

• Iowa and Oklahoma State are the only two programs in NCAA Division I history to have five individual champions in one year. Iowa boasted five champions in 1986 and 1997, while Oklahoma State accomplished the feat in 2005.

• Penn State will enter the 2013 NCAA Division I Wrestling Championships as the two-time defending national champions.

Championship History
Record Books