WHITEWATER, Wis. -- Wisconsin-Whitewater claimed the 2012 Wisconsin Intercollegiate Athletic Conference (WIAC) wrestling title at UW-Whitewater’s Williams Center on Sunday.

The Warhawks secured the 13th first-place trophy in program history with 108.5 points. UW-La Crosse, the 14-time defending champion, placed second with 96 points.

Place School Points
1 UW-Whitewater 108.5
2 UW-La Crosse 96.0
3 UW-Stevens Point 70.5
4 UW-Oshkosh 66.0
5 UW-Eau Claire 14.0
6 UW-Platteville 9.0
Complete Standings

UW-Whitewater’s championship effort was led by five individual titles. Adam Latella successfully defended his crown at 197 pounds with a 3-2 decision against UW-La Crosse’s Zach Strickland while Grant Sutter was victorious at 125 pounds with a 9-0 major decision against UW-Oshkosh’s Zachary Mueller.

Cade Sarbacker earned a 14-6 major decision vs. UW-Oshkosh’s Jose Quintana to win the 149-pound bracket. The Warhawks’ David Dwyer was triumphant at 184 pounds with a 3-1 overtime decision against UW-Oshkosh’s Sam Engelland. Corey Anderson became UW-Whitewater’s first 285-pound champion since 1989 with a 8-0 major decision against UW-La Crosse’s Billy Mayer.

UW-La Crosse secured four individual titles as Bebeto Yewah won the 141-pound title for the second consecutive year with a 24-9 technical fall against UW-Whitewater’s Elory Perkin. Yewah was selected the John Peterson Wrestler of the Meet for his efforts.

Mike Schmitz became the first individual in WIAC history to win four 174-pound titles after he beat UW-Oshkosh’s Dan Schiferl by a 7-5 margin. Adam Sheley secured his second consecutive championship at 133 pounds with a 8-0 major decision vs. UW-Stevens Point’s Joe Mileski. Kevin O’Brien was victorious at 165 pounds with a 8-6 decision against UW-Whitewater’s Cedric Gibson.

UW-Oshkosh’s Nazar Kulchytskyy became the first individual in program history to win the 157-pound crown with a 22-9 major decision against UW-Stevens Point’s Ben Strobel.

UW-Oshkosh’s Zachary Mueller received the Max Sparger Scholar-Athlete Award, while his coach, Chris Stratton was selected the Mertz Mortorelli Coach of the Year.

All 10 WIAC champions, along with six wild-card qualifiers, will participate in the Division III Championship in La Crosse, Wis. The national event will be hosted by UW-La Crosse at the La Crosse Center March 9-10.

Individuals securing wild card spots included: UW-La Crosse’s Billy Mayer (285 pounds); UW-Oshkosh’s Sam Engelland (184 pounds); UW-Platteville’s T.J. Wunnicke (133 pounds); UW-Stevens Point’s Joe Mileski (133 pounds) and Ben Strobel (157 pounds); and UW-Whitewater’s Jake Fredricksen (133 pounds).