ST. LOUIS – It appears a Big Ten Conference all-star match will be wrestled during the Division I Wrestling Championships on Saturday night inside Scottrade Center.

The conference flexed its muscles in Friday night’s semifinals, advancing 12 to the finals. The only final bout which does not include a Big Ten wrestler is 197 pounds.

Here's the breakdown:

125 pounds
Iowa’s Matt McDonough (35-1) will wrestle in his third championship match after beating Kent State’s Nicholas Bedelyon 15-7. McDonough, a junior, won the 2010 125-pound title and lost to Arizona State’s Anthony Robles in the 2011 championship match.

“It feels better than the other two because it’s the newest one,” McDonough said. “If there’s one thing I can remember, it’s that Sunday afterwards, how you feel. You’re not going to let yourself go home like that again. That’s one of the top motivations.”

The other bout required two sets of tiebreakers and 11 minutes before Penn State freshman Nico Megaludis (28-7), the No. 10 seed, beat Cornell senior Frank Perelli 3-2 on accumulated riding time.

McDonough beat Megaludis in overtime a the dual this season.

133 pounds
Oklahoma State’s Jordan Oliver will wrestle for his second national title. An Easton, Pa., product, Oliver beat Illinois’ Bernard Futrell 8-2 for the second time this season to move his record to 28-1. It was only the second time this season Oliver has not won by at least a major decision. The other match was against Ohio State’s Logan Stieber, his opponent in Saturday night’s final.

Stieber (32-2) held off a late charge from Iowa’s Tony Ramos in the other semifinal. Ramos (31-4) chose neutral to start the third period and was promptly taken down by the talented Buckeye freshman. Ramos reversed for 3-2 and an escape gave Stieber a two-point advantage. Ramos attacked during the final 30 seconds but could not secure an equalizing takedown. It was Stieber’s third win against Ramos this season.

“People would be lying to you if they said they don’t look at the brackets,” Stieber said. “But for me, if I look ahead to Oliver, if I did, I could have lost a couple of matches.”

Session 4:
Brackets | Scores | Round-by-Round
Semifinal Highlights | Recap
Session 3: 
Brackets | Scores | Round-by-Round 
Qarterfinal Highlights | Recap
Session 2:
 Brackets | Scores | Round-by-Round | Recap
Session 1:
 Brackets | Scores | Round-by-Round | Recap
Feature: In a word -- outstanding
Preview: Breaking down the race

141 pounds
Michigan’s Kellen Russell (32-1) scored a big takedown late in the second period for a 4-2 lead, then rode out the final two minutes for a 5-2 decision against Ohio State freshman Hunter Stieber.

The last brother combination to win a national title in the same year was Tom and Terry Brands, who accomplished the feat in 1992.

Iowa senior Montell Marion (31-3) scored an overtime takedown to beat Oklahoma’s Kendric Maple 3-1. Marion lost to Cornell’s Kyle Dake in the 2010 final and dropped an overtime decision to Russell in the 2011 semifinals. It was Maple’s second loss in 33 matches this season.

Marion is 0-3 all-time against Russell, including the 2012 Big Ten final.

149 pounds
Penn State’s Frank Molinaro (32-0), a 2011 runner-up and now a four-time All-American, advanced to the final with a workmanlike 5-0 decision against Hofstra’s unseeded Justin Accordino.

Minnesota’s Dylan Ness followed up his win against Oklahoma State’s second-seeded Jamal Parks with an 8-5 win vs. Tyler Nauman of Pittsburgh. Ness (31-5) will try to join his brother Jayson as an NCAA champion. Jayson won the 133-pound title in 2010.

Molinaro is 3-0 against Ness, including a technical fall in the Big Ten final.

157 pounds
Cornell’s two-time champion Kyle Dake slickly worked a second-period reversal to lead 2-0, and added a third-period takedown to beat American’s Ganbayar Sanjaa 4-0. The junior will go for his third title at a third different weight class, something never accomplished in NCAA history.

Dake previously won national titles at 141 pounds and 149, respectively, the past two seasons.

Iowa’s Derek St. John (21-2), once thought to be lost for the season due to injury, beat Northwestern’s Jason Welch 4-1. St. John, a sophomore, finished off a twisting-and-turning first-period scramble with a takedown to lead 2-0. Welch was nearly pinned during the melee.

165 pounds
Penn State sophomore David Taylor (31-0), who was 37-9 before losing in the 2011 final, trailed 2-0 to Bekzod Abdurakmonov. But a Cael Sanderson-like ankle pick gave the Nittany Lion sophomore a 3-2 lead, and a pair of slick takedowns separated the score. The lethal Taylor finished things off with a second-period pin, his fourth of the tournament.

“I don’t know, I’m not much of a pinner,” Taylor said. “I don’t think people see me as a pinner. I just had a feeling I haven’t felt in a really long time when I go out to wrestle. I’ve had some opportunities to put guys away in this tournament, score bonus points.”

Taylor’s opponent will be Lehigh’s 11th-seeded Brandon Hatchett (22-3), who edged Maryland’s Josh Asper 5-4.

How will Hatchett attack Taylor.

“I don’t know,” Hatchett said. “I haven’t decided yet. Make weight, relax, about 10 minutes before the match I’ll start panicking and figure that out.”


174 pounds
Ed Ruth (30-0) locked up a first-period cradle but couldn’t finish Minnesota freshman Logan Storley. He still did 16-1 by technical fall, to move to the final where he will face Stanford’s Nick Amuchastegui (24-0), now a three-time All-American and finalist last March.

Perry, who took his first loss in 30 matches, led 3-2 after a second-period reversal. But the Stanford senior escaped late for 3-3 and led 4-3 after an escape to start the third. Amuchastegui secured a late takedown to win 6-3.

“I felt like I got the best chance to wrestle the two best guys in the bracket,” said Amuchastegui. “If I beat them both, I’d come out feeling a lot better about the whole tournament.”

Amuchastegui beat Ruth in the 2011 quarterfinals before falling in the finals to Iowa State’s Jon Reader.

184 pounds
Returning champion Quentin Wright (30-3) of Penn State went over-and-under to take Robert Hamlin (32-2) to the mat in the first minute for a 2-0 advantage. Midway through the third, Wright avoided a Hamlin attack and won 3-2. It was a rematch of the 2011 NCAA final won by Wright, who, as a junior, is a three-time All-American.

Cornell’s Steve Bosak (32-4) beat Appalachian State’s Austin Trotman 4-2 with a takedown 27 seconds into overtime. Trotman (36-5) knocked off top-seeded Joe LeBlanc of Wyoming in the quarterfinals.

197 pounds
Both matches went to the third period tied at 2-2. Top-seeded Cam Simaz of Cornell (30-1) used a good counter for a decisive third-period takedown to beat Oklahoma State’s Cayle Byers 6-3. Edinboro’s Chris Honeycutt (40-1), the second seed, rallied in overtime to beat Pittsburgh’s Matthew Wilps, who gave Honeycutt his only loss this season in the EWL final two weekends ago.

285 pounds
In a rematch of the 2011 and 2012 EIWA final and the 2011 national final, Lehigh’s Zach Rey (26-2) beat American’s Ryan Flores (21-1) by a 7-1 count. Rey took a 2-0 lead, countering a Flores shot late in the first period, and Flores seemed to be a little wobbly the rest of the way.

Minnesota’s Tony Nelson (31-2) beat Oregon State’s Clayton Jack 4-3 with a third-period rally. It was Jack’s second loss in 41 bouts this year.