COLUMBUS, Ohio -- No. 3-ranked Minnesota put a beating on No. 5 Ohio State, winning the dual 25-9 on Friday night. The Golden Gophers improved to 9-1 overall and remain undefeated (3-0) in the Big Ten. The Buckeyes fell to 7-2 overall and 1-2 in the conference.

The competition began at 125 pounds as No. 13 David Thorn of Minnesota met a closely matched No. 13 Nikko Triggas. Down 0-4 in the second, Thorn tallied a reversal. Early in the third, he notched a takedown but was fought off to the end, falling by a 6-4 decision.

No. 6 Chris Dardanes followed at 133 pounds to take on Kyle Visconti. Dardanes racked up points with multiple takedowns to earn a 14-4 major, giving the Gophers a 4-3 lead in the dual. No. 11 Nick Dardanes took on powerhouse No. 2 Hunter Stieber in the 141-pound weight class. Dardanes managed to hold Stieber to only two takedowns, but with an escape in the second period, Stieber won the match by a 5-3 score.

Minnesota answered with another major decision to reclaim the lead (8-6). In his first dual meet of the season, No. 5 Dylan Ness dominated in a 15-7 overtaking of OSU’s Ian Paddock. Ness showed a reversal and a takedown while earning six back points all in the first period. At 157 pounds, Danny Zilverberg faced Cam Tessari (No. 14 at 149 pounds). Tessari gathered the score to 6-0 before Zilverberg got on the board with a reversal. The two battled to the end but with a final score of -2, the Buckeyes went into break with a 9-8 lead in the dual.

The heavier weights took control out of intermission as Minnesota would win the final five bouts on the night. In a close match at 165 pounds, Cody Yohn edged Josh Demas 3-1. Tied 1-1 in the third, Yohn marked a takedown to collect the victory. No. 2 Logan Storley followed at 174 pounds against No. 7 Nick Heflin. Choosing down to start the third, Storley made the quick escape and immediately attacked for the two-pointer. With an additional point for riding time, Storley was victorious with a 12-3 major.

After a scoreless first period, No. 5 Kevin Steinhaus scored an escaped and a takedown to lead C.J. Magrum 3-0. He followed with another takedown and a three-point near fall in the third, which when added to a riding time bonus gave him a 9-1 victory.

No. 14 Scott Schiller and No. 2 Tony Nelson closed out the night with consecutive decisions for the Golden Gophers. Schiller captured a 5-2 final against No. 9 Andrew Campolattano, while Nelson capitalized on a takedown in the finals seconds against No. 12 Peter Capone.