INDIANAPOLIS -- The NCAA has released the initial standings for the 2014 NCAA Wrestling Awards that will be awarded in March at the respective Division I, II and III wrestling championships.

The inaugural NCAA Wrestling Awards were presented at the 2012 wrestling championships. The awards honor the Most Dominant Wrestler as well as the student-athletes who have accumulated the most falls and the most tech falls throughout the course of the regular and postseasons.

For falls and tech falls to be counted toward a student-athletes total they must come against opponents in the same division. Ties in the two categories are broken based on the aggregate time.

In the initial standings of the 2014 season, Indiana’s Taylor Walsh leads all wrestlers with 19 pins. The 157-pound Walsh holds a seven-pin lead in the Division I standings over Bucknell heavyweight Joe Stolfi, who has 12 pins this season.

The Division II standings feature a three-way tie for first place between Western State’s Ian Steen (149 pounds), Ashland’s Brent Fickel (149 pounds) and Newberry’s Jeffrey Vesta (125 pounds) with eight each. Steen leads the way with a cumulative time of 30:05, followed by Fickel (33:58) and Vesta (40:14). Four more student-athletes have accumulated seven pins, led by Upper Iowa 149-pounder Edwin Cooper in 12:14.

Colin Lenhardt of Johnson & Wales (R.I.) leads the way in Division III with 14 pins at 184 pounds, followed by Chad Obzud of Oneonta State (197 pounds) with 13 and Rochester Institute’s Tyler Brent (184 pounds) with 12 pins. Overall, Division III features eight student-athletes who have compiled 10 or more pins this season.

Topping this week’s tech fall standings in Division I is Oklahoma’s Cody Brewer with seven. The 133-pound Brewer is trailed by a trio of wrestlers with five tech falls each.

Lake Erie 133-pounder Austin Gillihan leads Division II with six tech falls, followed by Francis Mizia of Mercyhurst (157 pounds) and Seiji Borja of Newberry (149 pounds) with four tech falls.

Division III features a two-way tie in the first edition of standings as Wisconsin-Whitewater 197-pounder Shane Siefert and Wilkes 149-pounder Mark Hartenstine each have six tech falls. Siefert ranks first with a combined time of 24:10 to 29:04 for Hartenstine. Three additional wrestlers are right on their heels with five tech falls a piece.

The Most Dominant Wrestler standings are calculated by adding the total number of points awarded through match results and dividing that number by the total number of matches wrestled. Points per match are awarded as follows. A 12-match minimum is required to be eligible for the Most Dominant Award.

• Fall, forfeit, injury default or DQ = 6 points (-6 points for a loss)
• Tech falls = 5 points (-5 points for a loss)
• Major decision = 4 points (-4 points for a loss)
• Decision = 3 points (-3 points for a loss)

The initial Most Dominant Wrestler standings will be released later this season in order to allow wrestlers to achieve the 12-match minimum that is required to be eligible for the standings.

A complete listing of this week’s NCAA Wrestling Awards standings is as follows:

RankNameSchoolWt. ClassPinsTime
Division I
1Taylor WalshIndiana1571959:56
2Joe StolfiBucknell2851233:17
3Harrison HightowerOhio165918:19
4David TaylorPenn State165929:28
5Jakob ScheffelWest Virginia174819:23
6Dylan PetersUNI125821:09
7Kevin BirminghamDavidson149822:25
8Nick GwiazdowskiNorth Carolina State285823:41
9Aaron (A.J.) SchoppEdinboro133831:55
10Ian MillerKent State157715:22
Division II
1Ian SteenWestern State149830:05
2Brent FickelAshland149833:58
3Jeffrey VestaNewberry125840:14
4Edwin CooperUpper Iowa149712:14
5Tyler HouskaAshland285714:37
6Rosborough EvanLake Erie197714:49
7Jared HolidayNewberry184724:52
8Nathan RodriguezOuachita Baptist133621:50
9Joseph PittmanNewberry17457:45
10Zach VargoLake Erie15757:51
Division III
1Colin LenhardtJohnson & Wales (R.I.)1841432:54
2Chad ObzudOneonta State1971328:41
3Tyler BrentRochester Institute1841232:47
4Matthew TuttleAlma1651128:53
5Cody LovejoyOhio Northern2851133:11
6Jamison SaccoWestern New England285108:38
7Thomas ReyhonsAugustana (Ill.)1841022:31
8Taylor GohnWheaton (Ill.)285923:38
9Carl LuthSouthern Maine141935:42
10Eric HamrickSpringfield149812:32

RankNameSchoolWt. ClassTFsTime
Division I
1Cody BrewerOklahoma133738:14
2Joe ColonNorthern Iowa133529:10
3Tyler GraffWisconsin133532:00
4Edward RuthPenn State184534:46
5Tyler DeuelBinghamton285419:13
6Connor MedberyWisconsin285423:15
7David TaylorPenn State165426:21
8Alex PolizziNorthwestern19737:25
9Logan StieberOhio State13337:48
10Chris PerryOklahoma State174312:54
Division II
1Austin GillihanLake Erie133625:52
2Francis MiziaMercyhurst157417:46
3Seiji BorjaNewberry149424:22
4Michael LabryAshland133312:35
5Bryden LazaroCalifornia Baptist125312:54
6Nick SwansonColorado Mesa149315:45
7Nicholas LeittenLimestone149317:35
8William YoungNewberry141320:15
9Helmut RentschlerTruman19725:28
10August MiziaMercyhurst17428:15
10Andrew PokornySt. Cloud State13328:15
Division III
1Shane SiefertWisconsin-Whitewater197624:10
2Mark HartenstineWilkes149629:04
3Steven FeuchtOhio Northern149521:20
4Zach JosephSpringfield149523:14
5Jayden DeVilbissLuther184525:56
6Maxx HubbardWisconsin-Whitewater141419:23
7Daniel DownesRoger Williams149420:39
8Guesseppe ReaWilkes125424:13
9Anthony CarloUrsinus165425:32
10Lucas MalmbergMessiah125425:52