wrestling-d2 flag

Notre Dame (Ohio) Athletics | March 15, 2014

Notre Dame (Ohio) sits in first following Day One

CLEVELAND -- Notre Dame (Ohio) leads the NCAA Division II Wrestling Championships after the first day of competition. Five Falcons have wrestled their way to All-American honors and four Falcons went 2-0 to qualify for the semifinals. 

Participants named for national championship meet
Of the five All-Americans Joey Davis, Eric Burgey and Brandonn Johnson are All-Americans for the second year in a row. Garrett Lineberger becomes the second freshman to achieve NCAA Division II All-American status in program history and Jonatan Rivera achieves All-American status for the first time in his career.

At 157 pounds No.5 Jonatan Rivera was solid with a 3-2 decision in the first round and an 8-6 quarterfinal victory. No.1 Eric Burgey, 165 pounds, recorded a 4-1 decision victory in the first round and a 3-2 victory in the quarterfinals.

No.1 Joey Davis was very impressive, spending a total 3:36 on the mat in recording two pins at 1:12 in the first round and 2:24 in the quarterfinal. With the wins Davis progresses his career record to 70-0.

Freshman Garrett Lineberger, ranked No.8, continued his impressive freshman season with two decision victories to progress to the semifinals and earn All-American honors in his first collegiate season.

In the team standings the Falcons lead the championship with 44 points. Two-time defending national champions Nebraska-Kearney is  in second place with 41 point and Lindenwood are third with 36 points.

College wrestling standings update: Most falls and tech falls heading into national championships

The NCAA has released updated standings for the 2020 NCAA Wrestling Awards that will be awarded in March at the respective Division I, II and III Wrestling Championships.

7 crazy numbers from Slippery Rocks DII football quarterfinals win

Slippery Rock and Notre Dame (OH) combined for 45 points in the first quarter in what turned into one of the more entertaining games in the 2019 DII football championship. Here are some of the more wild numbers from the game.

8 Harlon Hill Trophy finalists named for 2019 DII football player of the year

Following regional voting, the Little Rock Touchdown Club, in conjunction with the Great American Conference, revealed the eight finalists for the 2019 Harlon Hill Trophy, the NCAA Division II College Football Player of the Year.

Subscribe To Email Updates

Enter your information to receive emails about offers, promotions from NCAA.com and our partners