wrestling-d1 flag

NCAA Release | March 26, 2014

Penn State's David Taylor wins Most Dominant Wrestler after finishing undefeated

INDIANAPOLIS -- The NCAA handed out the 2014 NCAA Most Dominant Wrestler Awards, in addition to awards for the most falls and tech falls within Divisions I, II and III at NCAA wrestling championships during the past two weeks. The awards only take into account matches between wrestlers from the same division.

The Most Dominant Wrestler standings are calculated by adding the total number of points awarded through match results and dividing that number by the total number of matches wrestled. Points awarded per match are as follows:

*Fall, forfeit, injury default or DQ = 6 points (-6 points for a loss)
*Tech falls = 5 points (-5 points for a loss)
*Major decision = 4 points (-4 points for a loss)
*Decision = 3 points (-3 points for a loss)

A minimum of 18 matches were required to be eligible for the Most Dominant Wrestler Award. Athletes redshirting the 2014 season were not eligible for any of the awards.

At the NCAA Division I Wrestling Championships at Chesapeake Energy Arena in Oklahoma City, Okla., Penn State’s David Taylor earned the Most Dominant Wrestler Award after finishing the season undefeated (34-0) on the way to the 165-pound national championship. Taylor had three pins and a major decision before shutting out 6-0 Tyler Caldwell of Oklahoma State in the final. Taylor finished the season with an average of 5.0909 points, which was the highest average across all divisions.

Taylor Walsh of Indiana earned the award for most pins in a tight race that came down to time against Bucknell heavyweight Joe Stolfi. Both wrestlers finished the season with 22 pins, but Walsh’s combined time of 65:09 at 157 pounds was 51 seconds faster than Stolfi. Walsh earned a pin against Alex Hudson of Chattanooga in 2:19 in the first round in Oklahoma City to clinch the award.

Ohio State 141-pounder Logan Stieber won his third consecutive national championship in Oklahoma City, in addition to taking the award for most tech falls with 11 in 2013-14, tied for the most across divisions. He earned his 11th tech fall of the season in the second round of the tournament with a 17-1 decision in 4:52 against Anthony Collica of Oklahoma State.

Joey Davis of Notre Dame (Ohio) completed a 39-0 season to win the 174-pound national title and earn the Most Dominant Wrestler Award at the NCAA Division II Wrestling Championships in Cleveland, Ohio. Davis picked up pins in the first two rounds on the way to a season average of 4.4211 as the Falcons claimed the team national championship.

Zachary Bennett of Pittsburgh-Johnstown (197 pounds) and heavyweight Austin Goergen of St. Cloud State both finished the season with 14 pins, but Bennett took the award with a combined time of 28:09, 16 minutes faster than Goergen. Bennett pinned Joe Grisko of Newberry in 1:57 in the first round for his 14th pin of the season.

The Division II awards were rounded out by Lake Erie 133-pounder Austin Gillihan taking the prize for most tech falls with eight, one more than his two closest competitors.

Cedar Rapids, Iowa, hosted the NCAA Division III Wrestling Championships where Wisconsin-Oshkosh 157-pounder Nazar Kulchytskyy earned the Most Dominant Wrestler Award with an even average of five points. He pinned the No. 2 seed, Dimitri Boyer of Coe, in the final for his third national championship to finish with a 42-2 season and 143-5 career record.

The most falls in Division III were also the most across divisions as Augustana (Ill.) 184-pounder Thomas Reyhons took the award with 25 of his 35 wins this season coming via pin.

Wisconsin-Whitewater 197-pounder Shane Siefert tied for the all-division lead as his 11 tech falls took the award in Division III, three more than the next highest total in the division. Siefert finished the season as the runner-up at 197 pounds with a record of 41-5.

1David TaylorPenn State1655.0909
2Logan StieberOhio State1414.6207
3Edward RuthPenn State1844.5152
4Alex DieringerOklahoma State1574.0345
5Steven MonkNorth Dakota State1654
6Nick GwiazdowskiNorth Carolina State2853.95
7Andrew HoweOklahoma1743.931
8Mitchell PortEdinboro1413.9032
9Aaron (A.J.) SchoppEdinboro1333.8571
10Chris PerryOklahoma State1743.7931
1Joey DavisNotre Dame (Ohio)1744.4211
2Zachary BennettPittsburgh-Johnstown1974.3478
3Romero CottonNebraska-Kearney1974.1905
4Dave FoglePittsburgh-Johnstown1254.0417
5Edwin CooperUpper Iowa1494
6Steve ButlerLindenwood (Mo.)2853.9474
7Carl BroghammerUpper Iowa1973.88
8Austin GoergenSt. Cloud State2853.8621
9Ziad HaddadKutztown2853.8182
1Nazar KulchytskyyWisconsin-Oshkosh1575
2Landon WilliamsWartburg1744.7143
3Riley LefeverWabash1844.6571
4Ryan PraterElmhurst1494.65
5Shane SiefertWisconsin-Whitewater1974.4474
6Cody LovejoyOhio Northern2854.3023
7Jamison SaccoWestern New England2854.2857
8Kaleb LohtMessiah1414.2619
9Lucas MalmbergMessiah1254.2222
10Jacob LowryThiel1974.0833

1Taylor WalshIndiana1572265:09
2Joe StolfiBucknell2852266:00
3David TaylorPenn State1651545:25
4Harrison HightowerOhio1651327:50
5Dylan PetersNorthern Iowa1251336:35
6Kevin BirminghamDavidson1491236:39
7Steven MonkNorth Dakota State1651246:07
8J.T FelixBoise State2851123:39
9Evan HendersonNorth Carolina1411125:40
10Nick GwiazdowskiNC State2851132:06
1Zachary BennettPittsburgh-Johnstown1971428:09
2Austin GoergenSt. Cloud State2851444:57
3Edwin CooperUpper Iowa1491322:28
4D'Marcus SpencerKing (Tenn.)1331223:38
5Darick LapagliaMaryville (Mo.)1411230:53
6John Austin JonesKing (Tenn.)1571231:09
7Jared HolidayNewberry1841243:43
8Jeffrey VestaNewberry1251250:32
9Nathan RodriguezOuachita Baptist1331131:24
10Brock CoutuNebraska-Kearney1411140:19
1Thomas ReyhonsAugustana (Ill.)1842562:01
2Colin LenhardtJohnson & Wales1742454:04
3Cody LovejoyOhio Northern2852364:29
4Jamison SaccoWestern New England2851932:12
5Nazar KulchytskyyWisconsin-Oshkosh1571622:42
6Everet DesiletsJohnson & Wales1571636:34
7Chad ObzudOneonta State1971638:05
8Matthew TuttleAlma College1651642:50
9Andrew StockJohnson & Wales1651526:53
10Michael PawlitzOhio Northern1971424:01

1Logan StieberOhio State1411154:47
2Joe ColonNorthern Iowa1331058:36
3Tyler GraffWisconsin133925:34
4Cody BrewerOklahoma133952:14
5David TaylorPenn State165850:22
6Edward RuthPenn State184852:37
7Alex HudsonChattanooga157730:15
8Nahshon GarrettCornell125740:55
9Jesse DelgadoIllinois125629:53
10Nicholas MegaludisPenn State125639:21
1Austin GillihanLake Erie133835:32
2Francis MiziaMercyhurst157730:28
3William YoungNewberry141736:56
4Joey DavisNotre Dame (Ohio)174629:45
5Casy RowellCentral Oklahoma133641:30
6Patrick MartinezNebraska-Kearney174528:01
7Michael LabryAshland133419:35
8Kyle WilliamsMcKendree149419:38
9Bryden LazaroCalifornia Baptist125419:54
10Nick BurghardtMaryville (Mo.)184420:20
1Shane SiefertWisconsin-Whitewater1971148:32
2Zach JosephSpringfield149838:25
3Mark HartenstineWilkes149839:33
4Anthony CarloUrsinus165744:07
5Collin CrowellRoger Williams165618:51
6Steven FeuchtOhio Northern149628:20
7Landon WilliamsWartburg174629:46
8Daniel DownesRoger Williams149512:09
9Anthony EdgrenWisconsin-Whitewater285517:13
10Ryan SeidlerWisconsin-Eau Claire149523:44

Florida State women's soccer surges to the top of Week 5's Power Ranking

Florida State women's soccer surges to the top of Andrew McDevitt's Week 5 college soccer Power 5 Ranking

David Taylor: College wrestling stats, titles, history

David Taylor won his third world championship on September 17, 2023. Let's take a look back at his legendary college career.

5 storylines to follow this college wrestling season

Penn State will once again be a hot topic leading into the 2023-2024 college wrestling season, so here's everything you need to know about the Blue and White, as well as the teams, coaches and athletes that will be looking to challenge the reigning champs this year.