wrestling-d1 flag

NCAA.com | January 15, 2015

Initial standings revealed for the 2015 NCAA Wrestling Awards

INDIANAPOLIS -- The NCAA has released the initial standings for the 2015 NCAA Wrestling Awards that will be awarded in March at the respective Division I, II and III Wrestling Championships.

The inaugural NCAA Wrestling Awards were presented at the 2012 wrestling championships. The three awards, given at each division, honor the Most Dominant Wrestler as well as the student-athletes that have accumulated the most falls and the most tech falls throughout the course of the regular and postseasons.

For falls and tech falls to be counted towards a student-athletes total they must come against opponents in the same division. Ties in the two categories are broken based on the aggregate time.

In the initial standings for falls of the 2015 season, 2014 winner Taylor Walsh (165 pounds) of Indiana leads Division I with 13 pins, followed closely by heavyweight Joe Stolfi of Bucknell with 12 victories via pin.

The Division II standings have Lake Erie’s 197-pounder Evan Rosborough in front by two falls with nine over heavyweight Andy Welton of Mercyhurst.

Division III features the all divisions leader as heavyweight Cody Lovejoy of Ohio Northern has accumulated 15 pins. Seven wrestlers have already earned 10 pins with freshman 133-pounder DJ Tirelli of Johnson & Wales (Rhode Island) trailing Lovejoy by one pin.

Four wrestlers have reached five tech falls in Division I, but Logan Storley of Minnesota (174 pounds) takes the top spot this week with his coming in the lowest accumulated time of 28:01. Rounding out the top group are Navy’s Peyton Walsh (165 pounds), Illinois’ Isaiah Martinez (157 pounds) and Lock Haven’s Fred Garcia (184 pounds).  Last year’s champion, Logan Stieber of Ohio State, is currently sitting at three tech falls.

Division II features a three-way tie of wrestlers with three falls, led by Indianapolis’ 133-pounder Nick Crume.  His falls have come in an aggregate time of 11:57, which is 1:48 quicker than 197-pounder Helmut Rentschler of Truman and 2:01 ahead of 157-pounder Francis Mizia of Mercyhurst.

Nathaniel Giorgio from Coast Guard is the sole leader in the early going in Division III with seven tech falls, while Michael Polizzi of Stevens Institute of Technology has earned six this season.

The Most Dominant Wrestler standings are calculated by adding the total number of points awarded through match results and dividing that number by the total number of matches wrestled. Points per match are awarded as follows. A 12-match minimum is required to be eligible for the Most Dominant Award.

• Fall, forfeit, injury default or DQ = 6 points (-6 points for a loss)
• Tech falls = 5 points (-5 points for a loss)
• Major decision = 4 points (-4 points for a loss)
• Decision = 3 points (-3 points for a loss)

The initial Most Dominant Wrestler standings will be released later this season in order to allow wrestlers to achieve the 12-match minimum that is required to be eligible for the standings.

NCAA Stat Leaders - Falls
Rank Name School Falls Time
1 Taylor Walsh Indiana 13 26:31
2 Joe Stolfi Bucknell 12 46:02
3 Alex Polizzi Northwestern 9 20:56
4 Cody Ruggirello Hofstra 9 24:11
5 Jace Bennett Cornell 8 21:54
6 Ross Larson Oklahoma 7 11:42
7 Matthew Brown Penn State 7 21:44
8 Dylan Ness Minnesota 7 23:40
9 Aaron (A.J.) Schopp Edinboro 7 23:54
10 Jameston Oster Northwestern 6 11:30
Rank Name School Falls Time
1 Evan Rosborough Lake Erie 9 23:20
2 Andy Welton Mercyhurst 7 18:10
3 Austin Goergen St. Cloud State 6 12:17
4 Ziad Haddad Kutztown 6 16:05
5 Jon Inman Fort Hays State 6 19:42
6 Darren Wynn McKendree 6 20:19
7 Mitch Wyatt Colorado Mesa 5 6:15
8 Chris Watson Central Oklahoma 5 11:02
9 Luis Alba McKendree 5 17:45
10 Jack Page Fort Hays State 4 6:25
Rank Name School Falls Time
1 Cody Lovejoy Ohio Northern 15 34:13
2 DJ Tirelli Johnson & Wales (Rhode Island) 14 29:54
3 Adrian Berry SUNY Cortland 13 45:44
4 Isaiah Shipman Messiah 12 27:14
5 Jose "Luis" Hernandez Milwaukee School of Engineering 12 44:17
6 Shane Siefert Wisconsin-Whitewater 10 21:05
7 Christoper Chorzepa Williams 10 38:01
8 Riley Lefever Wabash 9 12:49
9 Phil Kelly Johnson & Wales (Rhode Island) 9 13:17
10 Michael Labell Johnson & Wales (Rhode Island) 9 18:38
NCAA Stat Leaders - Tech Falls
Rank Name School Tech Falls Time
1 Logan Storley Minnesota 5 28:01
2 Peyton Walsh Navy 5 30:37
3 Isaiah Martinez Illinois 5 30:49
4 Fred Garcia Lock Haven 5 34:31
5 Cody Pack South Dakota State 4 18:10
6 Javier Rodriguez Army 4 18:58
7 James Green Nebraska 4 22:49
8 Nahshon Garrett Cornell 4 25:18
9 Hayden Zillmer North Dakota State 4 25:19
10 Logan Stieber Ohio State 3 10:05
Rank Name School Tech Falls Time
1 Nick Crume Indianapolis 3 11:57
2 Helmut Rentschler Truman 3 13:45
3 Francis Mizia Mercyhurst 3 13:58
4 Garrett Lineberger Notre Dame (Ohio) 2 7:16
5 Jeremiah Peterson Augustana (South Dakota) 2 8:04
5 Colby Christensen Colorado Mesa 2 8:04
7 Randy Boerner Colorado Mesa 2 9:11
8 Kyle Jolas Lindenwood (Missouri) 2 9:36
9 Willie Bohince Mercyhurst 2 10:57
10 Samuel Mangum Western State 2 12:29
Rank Name School Tech Falls Time
1 Nathaniel Giorgio Coast Guard 7 22:44
2 Michael Polizzi Stevens Institute Of Technology 6 36:54
3 Michael Fleck Wilkes 5 24:19
4 Gino Gioielle SUNY Cortland 5 30:26
5 Cary Palmer Hunter 5 33:06
6 Nathan Pike New York University 4 21:32
7 Collin Lesko Alma 4 22:26
8 Stephen Aiello Wheaton (Illinois) 4 22:43
9 Jake Savoca Williams 4 26:31
10 Edward Pierce Wesleyan (Connecticut) 3 9:36
Note: Stat leaders are compiled from results entered into the OPC Results System

Oklahoma State wrestling championships: History, statistics

Here's everything you need to know about the Oklahoma State wrestling dynasty, including season-by-season records and breakdowns of every one of the Hawkeyes' championships.

Kyle Dake: College wrestling stats, titles, history

Here's a close look at Kyle Dake's college wrestling career, including all four of his NCAA titles won at four different weights.

Dan Gable: College wrestling stats, titles, history

A two-time NCAA champion, Dan Gable was one of the best to ever compete in collegiate wrestling. His coaching resume, however, is even more impressive. Here's everything you need to know about Dan Gable the coach, Dan Gable the wrestler and Dan Gable the legend. 

Subscribe To Email Updates

Enter your information to receive emails about offers, promotions from NCAA.com and our partners