wrestling-d2 flag

Notre Dame (Ohio) Athletics | March 1, 2015

Notre Dame (Ohio) wins Super Regional 1

WEST LIBERTY, W.Va. -- The 2015 NCAA Wrestling Super Region 1 Championships brought together the top wrestlers in the Division II East Region, and when all the dust had settled after two days of action, Notre Dame (Ohio) was on top of the competition. The Falcons finished first at the Super Region 1 Championships with a combined team score of 133 points, beating Mercyhurst (126 points) and Kutztown (92.5) to take the East Region title.

This marks the third consecutive year that the Falcons have been crowned East Region champions.

With their success at the Super Region 1 Championships, nine different Falcons earned berths to the upcoming NCAA Division II Wrestling Championships in St. Louis, Missouri on March 13-14.

The Falcons had eight wrestlers place in the top four of their bracket, thus earning eight automatic bids. However, Garrett Linton (197 pounds) also earned a berth to Nationals as an alternate, in case of sickness or injury to one of the qualifying wrestlers.

Joey Davis, who won the 174 pound bracket by going 4-0, was named Most Valuable Wrestler of the tournament.

"It was a really good day for us," head coach Frank Romano said. "Everyone fought as hard as they could, everyone battled, everyone contributed and scored team points. It was a total team effort. Now we have to prepare for the national tournament."

Final Brackets/Results

5 bold predictions for the 2019 DII football season

Here's what will (probably!) go down in the 2019 DII football season that begins Thursday, Sept. 5.

5 DII football teams that can win their first national championship in 2019

Let’s take a look at a few DII football teams that could be hoisting the championship trophy in McKinney, Texas on Dec. 21 at the 2019 DII football championship.

The DII football preseason rankings are out. Here's what we learned

Valdosta State earned the top spot in the preseason DII football rankings. Let's take a look at how the first AFCA top 25 panned out for the coming 2019 DII football season.

Subscribe To Email Updates

Enter your information to receive emails about offers, promotions from NCAA.com and our partners