wrestling-d1 flag

NCAA.com | March 4, 2015

Most dominant rankings revealed for first time


The 2015 NCAA Wrestling Awards will be awarded in March at the respective Division I, II and III Wrestling Championships.

For falls and tech falls to be counted towards a student-athletes total they must come against opponents in the same division. Ties in the two categories are broken based on the aggregate time.

The Most Dominant Wrestler standings are calculated by adding the total number of points awarded through match results against opponents in the same division and dividing that number by the total number of matches wrestled. Points per match are awarded as follows.

• Fall, forfeit, injury default or DQ = 6 points (-6 points for a loss)
• Tech falls = 5 points (-5 points for a loss)
• Major decision = 4 points (-4 points for a loss)
• Decision = 3 points (-3 points for a loss)

INDIANAPOLIS -- This week the standings reflect the minimum of 18 matches that are required to be eligible to win the Most Dominant Wrestler award.

The inaugural NCAA Wrestling Awards were presented at the 2012 wrestling championships. The three awards, given in each division, honor the Most Dominant Wrestler as well as the student-athletes that have accumulated the most falls and the most tech falls throughout the course of the regular and postseasons.

Three-time national champion Logan Stieber of Ohio State has the most points per match (5.14) at 141 pounds in Division I. North Carolina State heavyweight Nick Gwiazdowski is in second with 4.62 points, while Oklahoma State 165-pounder Alex Dieringer is third with 4.57 points.

Garrett Grey of Tiffin debuts in the top spot in the Division II Most Dominant Wrestler standings with an average of 5.21 points per match, 0.32 points more than second place.

Wabash 184-pounder Riley Lefever has surged to first place in Division III with an average of 5.36 points per match, 0.25 points ahead of his nearest challenger.

Bucknell heavyweight Joe Stolfi maintains a two-fall lead in Division I with 18 this season, while last year’s award winner, Taylor Walsh of Indiana, has 16 at 157 pounds.

The Division II standings have Lake Erie’s 197-pounder Evan Rosborough in front by four falls with 16 this season.

Division III is the tightest race in NCAA wrestling with a trio of heavyweights leading the way. Ohio Northern’s Cody Lovejoy has 23 falls, SUNY Oneonta’s James Bethel has notched 21 of his own and Milwaukee School of Engineering’s Jose Hernandez has 20 falls.

Illinois 157-pounder Isaiah Martinez is alone in first place in Division I with nine tech falls. The competition is close as two more wrestlers have each earned eight tech falls.

Division II leader Francis Mizia of Mercyhurst (157 pounds) saw his lead decrease to two as he holds steady with eight tech falls.

The lead in Division III comes down to a difference in aggregate time as Coast Guard 133-pounder Nathaniel Giorgio and Stevens Institute of Technology 157-pounder Michael Polizzi each have 12 tech falls. Giorgio, however, has compiled his in 43:17 to 68:44 for Polizzi.

Division I
1 Logan Stieber Ohio State 141 5.14
2 Nick Gwiazdowski North Carolina State 285 4.62
3 Alex Dieringer Oklahoma State 165 4.57
4 Isaiah Martinez Illinois 157 4.46
5 Mitchell Port Edinboro 141 4.31
6 Dylan Ness Minnesota 157 4.29
7 Robert Kokesh Nebraska 174 4.21
8 J`Den Cox Missouri 197 4.15
9 Connor Medbery Wisconsin 285 4.04
10 Kyven Gadson Iowa State 197 3.95
Division II
1 Garrett Grey Tiffin 285 5.21
2 Nate Rodriguez Ouachita Baptist 133 4.89
3 James Martinez Colorado Mesa 157 4.58
4 Austin Goergen St. Cloud State 285 4.55
5 Michael Labry Ashland 133 4.46
6 Chris Watson Central Oklahoma 165 4.46
7 Clint Poster St. Cloud State 157 4.29
8 Sam Hanau Pittsburgh-Johnstown 141 4
9 John Hagerty Maryville (MO) 149 3.95
10 TJ North Augustana (SD) 125 3.83
Division III
1 Riley Lefever Wabash 184 5.36
2 Cody Lovejoy Ohio Northern 285 5.11
3 Donald Longendyke Augsburg 285 5.04
4 Terrance Jean-Jacques Rhode Island College 285 4.89
5 Nathaniel Giorgio Coast Guard 133 4.86
6 Kaleb Loht Messiah 141 4.79
7 Shane Siefert Wisconsin-Whitewater 197 4.77
8 Christoper Chorzepa Williams 184 4.74
8 AJ Kowal Stevens Institute Of Technology 184 4.7
10 Conner Lefever Wabash 174 4.65

Iowa, Penn State lead DI wrestling attendance in 2022-23

Iowa and Penn State lead this National Wrestling Media Association list of average attendance for 71 DI wrestling programs.

Dream matches that could happen at the 2023 U.S. Open wrestling qualifier

Here are nine of the biggest potential names and matches for college wrestling fans to look for this weekend at this major qualifying event across men’s freestyle, women’s freestyle and men’s Greco events this weekend.

Penn State wins the 2023 DI men's wrestling team title

The Penn State Nittany Lions won the 2023 wrestling title with two individual national champions at the finals in Tulsa, Oklahoma.