wrestling-d1 flag

NCAA.com | March 13, 2015

DI standings updated heading into nat'l champs

INDIANAPOLIS -- The NCAA has updated the standings for the 2015 NCAA Wrestling Awards that will be awarded in March at the respective Division I, Division II and Division III Wrestling Championships. This week’s update only reflects changes in the Division I standings, as no matches were contested in the other two divisions before those championship events commenced on March 13.

The inaugural NCAA Wrestling Awards were presented at the 2012 wrestling championships. The three awards, given in each division, honor the Most Dominant Wrestler as well as the student-athletes that have accumulated the most falls and the most tech falls throughout the course of the regular and postseasons.

For falls and tech falls to be counted towards a student-athlete's total they must come against opponents in the same division. Ties in the two categories are broken based on the aggregate time.

The Most Dominant Wrestler standings are calculated by adding the total number of points awarded through match results against opponents in the same division and dividing that number by the total number of matches wrestled. Points per match are awarded as follows.

• Fall, forfeit, injury default or DQ = 6 points (-6 points for a loss)

• Tech falls = 5 points (-5 points for a loss)

• Major decision = 4 points (-4 points for a loss)

• Decision = 3 points (-3 points for a loss)

This week the standings reflect the minimum of 18 matches that are required to be eligible to win the Most Dominant Wrestler award.

Three-time national champion Logan Stieber of Ohio State has the most points per match (5.0) at 141 pounds in Division I. North Carolina State heavyweight Nick Gwiazdowski is in second with 4.64 points, while Oklahoma State 165-pounder Alex Dieringer is third with 4.6 points.

Bucknell heavyweight Joe Stolfi maintains a two-fall lead in Division I with 19 this season, while last year’s award winner, Taylor Walsh of Indiana, has 17 at 157 pounds.

Illinois 157-pounder Isaiah Martinez is alone in first place in Division I with 10 tech falls. The competition is close as two more wrestlers have each earned eight tech falls.

NCAA Stat Leaders - Falls
Division I
1 Joe Stolfi Bucknell 285 19 68:27
2 Taylor Walsh Indiana 165 17 33:31
3 Ross Larson Oklahoma 285 14 33:47
4 Cody Ruggirello Hofstra 149 12 34:19
5 Nick Gwiazdowski North Carolina State 285 12 36:52
6 Mitchell Port Edinboro 141 12 47:07
7 Derek Elmore Northern Illinois 125 10 26:26
8 Logan Stieber Ohio State 141 10 28:18
9 Alex Polizzi Northwestern 197 10 28:55
10 A.J. Schopp Edinboro 133 10 38:23

NCAA Stat Leaders - Tech Falls
Division I
1 Isaiah Martinez Illinois 157 10 54:31
2 Peyton Walsh Navy 165 8 48:12
3 James Green Nebraska 157 8 50:30
4 Nahshon Garrett Cornell 125 7 42:45
5 Alan Waters Missouri 125 7 43:02
6 Logan Stieber Ohio State 141 6 21:24
7 Austin Trott Gardner-Webb 165 6 22:24
8 Tyler Deuel Binghamton 285 6 30:58
9 Connor Medberry Wisconsin 285 6 35:46
10 Kevin Devoy Drexel 133 6 36:17

NCAA Stat Leaders - Most Dominant
Division I
1 Logan Stieber Ohio State 141 5
2 Nick Gwiazdowski North Carolina State 285 4.64
3 Alex Dieringer Oklahoma State 165 4.6
4 Isaiah Martinez Illinois 157 4.38
5 Mitchell Port Edinboro 141 4.32
6 Robert Kokesh Nebraska 174 4.19
7 J`Den Cox Missouri 197 4.17
8 A.J. Schopp Edinboro 133 4.1
9 Kyven Gadson Iowa State 197 4.04
10 Dylan Ness Minnesota 157 3.96

Mark Hall and Zahid Valencia NCAA title match: Rewatched with my dad, a former All-American wrestler

We break down the 2019 174-pound NCAA championship match with help from Curt Scovel, an All-American wrestler and former captain of the University of Maryland wrestling team.

How Spencer Lee beat Jack Mueller in the 2019 NCAA wrestling finals

Here's a geek-out film study of the dual between Iowa's Spencer Lee and Virginia's Jack Mueller during the 2019 NCAA wrestling tournament at PPG Paints Arena in Pittsburgh.

Wrestlers can compete in special shorts next season

The NCAA Playing Rules Oversight Panel approved allowing wrestlers to compete in shorts designed for the sport and removing all language in the sport’s rules book regarding the length of a wrestler’s hair.

Subscribe To Email Updates

Enter your information to receive emails about offers, promotions from NCAA.com and our partners