wrestling-d1 flag

Ohio State Athletics | January 18, 2020

College wrestling: No. 4 Ohio State takes down No. 8 Wisconsin on the road in top-10 tilt

Relive Iowa's Spencer Lee defending his 125 pound title

MADISON, Wis. – The No. 4 Ohio State University wrestling team (6-1, 2-0 B1G) made good on an 8-hour trek to Cheese Country, grating the 8th-ranked Badgers of Wisconsin (8-3, 1-3 B1G) in a top-10 tilt. The Buckeyes won six of 10 bouts to snag a 24-13 victory.

Four Buckeyes earned bonus points, including back-to-back tech falls at 184 and 197 pounds by Rocky Jordan and Kollin Moore, respectively, which clinched the team triumph. Additional Ohio State victors were Luke Pletcher and Sammy Sasso majoring their adversaries while Elijah Cleary and Kaleb Romero notched decisions.

Moore’s 21-3 blistering of Peter Christensen not only sealed the dual win, but also represented the 100th win of his career.

Pletcher is hot on his heels, reaching 99 career wins Friday night in Madison. It was no ordinary win for Pletcher though. He blasted fourth-ranked and reigning Big Ten Wrestler of the Week, Tristan Moran, in an 11-3 major decision. Pletcher is now 9-0 vs. top-25 opponents this season with a +69 point differential (+7.67 per bout average).

Sasso also topped a nationally-ranked foe in impressive fashion. After narrowly missing out on a first-period fall, he fired off a late shot and found pay dirt to complete the 12-3 major decision over No. 13 Cole Martin.

Cleary took the mat next and attacked right off the whistle for a lightning quick takedown. He would add another takedown and reversal for the 7-3 decision increasing Ohio State’s bout winning streak to three in a row.

Following a tight 7-4 loss at 165 pounds in which Ethan Smith recorded the bout’s first takedown, Romero got the Buckeyes back on track at 174 pounds. He came away as a 7-3 victor and then handed the baton to Jordan.

OLYMPIC WRESTLING: The 2020 Olympic redshirt factor, broken down

Jordan wiped the mat with Tyler Dow, 20-2, for his 21st win of the season.

The final result at 133 pounds was not what Jordan Decatur was hoping for, but three takedowns on the former NCAA champion and currently top-ranked Seth Gross is nothing to sneeze at for the Buckeye true freshman.

No. 4 Ohio State 24, No. 8 Wisconsin 13
125 lbs | Eric Barnett (UW) def. Malik Heinselman (OSU) | D, 8-6; Team Score:  0-3
133 lbs | No. 1 Seth Gross (UW) def. No. 20 Jordan Decatur (OSU) | MD, 15-6; TS:  0-7
141 lbs | No. 1 Luke Pletcher (OSU) def. No. 4 Tristan Moran (UW) | MD, 11-3; TS:  4-7
149 lbs | No. 6 Sammy Sasso (OSU) def. No. 13 Cole Martin (UW) | MD, 12-3; TS:  8-7
157 lbs | Elijah Cleary (OSU) def. Drew Scharenbrock (UW) | D, 7-3; TS:  11-7
165 lbs | No. 4 Evan Wick (UW) def. No. 12 Ethan Smith (OSU) | D, 7-4; TS:  11-10
174 lbs | No. 8 Kaleb Romero (OSU) def. Jared Krattiger (UW) | D, 7-3; TS:  14-10
184 lbs | Rocky Jordan (OSU) def. Tyler Dow (UW) | TF, 20-2; TS:  19-10
197 lbs | No. 1 Kollin Moore (OSU) def. Peter Christensen (UW) | TF, 21-3; TS:  24-10
285 lbs | No. 5 Trent Hillgar (UW) def. Gary Traub (OSU) | D, 6-0; TS:  24-13

Ohio State is back home inside the friendly confines of the Covelli Center on Sunday (Jan. 19). The Buckeyes host Illinois at 1 p.m. ET.

College football preview for 2022 season: Bleacher Report's Adam Kramer makes predictions for next season

Bleacher Report college football senior writer Adam Kramer joins NCAA Digital's Michella Chester to take a look at what fans can expect ahead of the 2022 season.

9 College World Series records that (we think) will never be broken

There are some crazy records in College World Series history since the tournament started in 1947. Here are nine we think can never be broken.

WATCH: Ohio State's Adelaide Aquilla breaks collegiate shot put record, wins 2022 title

Ohio State's Adelaide Aquilla won the women's shot put title. She broke the collegiate record with her 19.64-meter mark, beating the rest of the field by over one meter.

Subscribe To Email Updates

Enter your information to receive emails about offers, promotions from NCAA.com and our partners