wrestling-d1 flag

NCAA.com | March 10, 2022

NCAA updates Division I wrestling award standings after conference tournaments

DI wrestling: 2022 selection show

INDIANAPOLIS — The NCAA has released updated standings for the 2022 NCAA Wrestling Awards that will be awarded on March 19 at the conclusion of the Division I Wrestling Championships.

The inaugural NCAA Wrestling Awards were presented at the 2012 wrestling championships. The three awards, given in each division, honor the Most Dominant Wrestler as well as the student-athletes that have accumulated the most falls and the most technical falls throughout the course of the regular and postseasons.

For results to be counted for the awards they must come against opponents in the same division (i.e. Division II vs. Division II). Ties in the falls and tech falls categories are broken based on the aggregate time.

After winning the first Big 12 Conference wrestling championship in school history over the weekend, undefeated heavyweight Wyatt Hendrickson of Air Force leads in the standings for Most Dominant Wrestler with 5.35 team points per match, in addition to leading Division I with 15 falls.

Rutgers 141-pounder Sebastian Rivera is second with 4.92 average team points, while two-time national champion Yianni Diakomihalis of Cornell is third with an average of 4.65. Three additional former national champions are also in the standings heading to Detroit with Penn State’s Carter Starocci in seventh, Iowa State’s David Carr in eighth and Nittany Lion Roman Bravo-Young in 10th.

The Most Dominant Wrestler standings are calculated by adding the total number of team points awarded through match results and dividing that number by the total number of matches wrestled. Wrestlers need a minimum of 17 matches and must qualify for the national tournament to win the award. Points per match are awarded as follows.

* Fall, forfeit, injury default or DQ = 6 points (-6 points for a loss)
* Tech falls = 5 points (-5 points for a loss)
* Major decision = 4 points (-4 points for a loss)
* Decision = 3 points (-3 points for a loss)

King Sandoval of Maryland is second behind Hendrickson with 13 falls this season, while a trio of wrestlers have a dozen led by Tanner Cook of South Dakota State in the least amount of time of 27:41.

Rutgers’ Rivera will head to Detroit with a nearly insurmountable lead in tech falls with 13, which is six more than Cole Urbas of Penn and Austin DeSanto of Iowa with seven.

NCAA Stat Leaders - Most Dominant, Division I
1 Wyatt Hendrickson Air Force 285 5.35
2 Sebastian Rivera Rutgers 141 4.92
3 Yianni Diakomihalis Cornell 149 4.65
4 Trent Hidlay NC State 184 4.53
5 Daton Fix Oklahoma St. 133 4.43
6 Keegan O'Toole Missouri 165 4.38
7 Carter Starocci Penn St. 174 4.35
8 David Carr Iowa St. 157 4.30
9 Michael O'Malley Drexel 174 4.26
10 Roman Bravo-Young Penn St. 133 4.18
17-match minimum in division & qualified for NCAAs required to be ranked
NCAA Stat Leaders - Falls, Division I
Rank Name School Weight Falls Time
1 Wyatt Hendrickson Air Force 285 15 37:12
2 King Sandoval Maryland 133 13 25:09
3 Tanner Cook South Dakota St. 165 12 27:41
4 Josh Mason Bloomsburg 141 12 31:30
5 Matt Stencel Central Mich. 285 12 35:55
6 Owen Pentz North Dakota St. 197 11 24:12
7 Michael O'Malley Drexel 174 10 26:27
8 Anthony Sobotker Binghamton 133 10 38:54
9 Zach Hartman Bucknell 165 9 19:42
10 Josh Koderhandt Navy 133 9 37:28


NCAA Stat Leaders — Tech Falls, Division I
Rank Name School Weight Tech Falls Time
1 Sebastian Rivera Rutgers 141 13 80:18
2 Cole Urbas Penn 197 7 32:41
3 Austin DeSanto Iowa 133 7 34:24
4 Yianni Diakomihalis Cornell 149 6 23:57
5 Michael McGee Arizona St. 133 6 25:32
6 Braxton Amos Wisconsin 197 6 27:55
7 Devin Schroder Purdue 125 6 31:14
8 Nick Incontrera Penn 174 6 34:16
9 Dean Hamiti Wisconsin 165 6 35:01
10 Codi Russell App State 133 6 35:36

Penn State wins the 2023 DI men's wrestling team title

The Penn State Nittany Lions won the 2023 wrestling title with two individual national champions at the finals in Tulsa, Oklahoma.

How Matt Ramos shockingly pinned 3-time NCAA wrestling champion Spencer Lee

Iowa's Spencer Lee had all the pressure in the world on his shoulders in his semifinals against Purdue's Matt Ramos. He was expected to win. It was almost a given. But Matt Ramos has other plans. Here's what happened.

These are the 80 NCAA DI men's wrestling All-Americans for 2023

Another year, another 80 Division I wrestlers earning one of the most important, distinguished honors in collegiate wrestling: an All-American finish. Here are the place-winners for 2023.