In Case You Missed It

In Case You Missed It

Don't miss it

wrestling-d1 flag | February 23, 2014

UNI beats ODU to finish undefeated

UNI Wrestling

NORFOLK, Va. -- Fifth-ranked UNI became the only wrestling team to finish the season undefeated (13-0) in Division I with a 21-19 win against Old Dominion. Four Panthers won their matches, with three earning falls.

It all came down to the final match at heavyweight. It was up to Blaize Cabell to overcome the 19-18 edge ODU earned with wins at 141, 149, 157, 184 and 197 pounds.

An escape and two takedowns gave Cabell the 5-1 lead. Cabell went on to get the 7-4 decision to seal UNI’s perfect season.

Brandon Jeske of ODU struck first in the 125-pound match with a takedown, but Dylan Peters countered with a reversal and earned a point for locked hands to go up 3-2 in the first. Peters gave up the escape to end the first period in a 3-3 tie. Another escape early in the second put Jeske up 4-3, but Peters got his fall in 4 minutes, 47 seconds.

Joe Colon (133 pounds) is the nation’s leader in tech falls. He dominated his match against Michael Hayes, going up 14-1 before getting the fall in 6:12.

Joey Lazor (141 pounds) pulled within one point of No. 4 Chris Mecate, but Lazor was not awarded back points after an official review and lost 9-8. The Panthers would go on to lose the next two, pulling UNI within two team points (12-10).

It was Cooper Moore who got UNI back on the board, pinning Devin Geoghegan, an Iowa Central Community College transfer who won the junior college regionals in 2012-13. Moore (165 pounds) got an early takedown in the first period to go up 2-0. From there, he continued to dominate, going up 12-4 before he earned a fall in 6:38.

Just like UNI, this is Old Dominion’s first full MAC season. The Monarchs are now 4-4 in the MAC, while UNI improves to 7-0.

No. 1 Minnesota 27, No. 17 Iowa State 12

AMES, Iowa -- To finish out the 2013-14 dual meet season, No. 1 Minnesota defeated No. 17 Iowa State 27-12. The Gophers finish the regular season with an overall record of 14-1 while boasting a 7-1 conference record. With today's win over Iowa State, the Gophers remained undefeated in non-conference competition.

Minnesota would win seven bouts on the afternoon including three major decisions and a pin to round out the final team score of 27.

The dual started at 125, with a battle between Sam Brancale and Earl Hall of Iowa State. Hall was able to collect four points right away in the first period to lead Brancale. Brancale escaped and would then ride out the end of the first period and the entire second period to collect 2:46 in riding time. Brancale would lead by as much as 8-4 before Hall attacked and sent Brancale to the mat, earning the fall and six team points for Iowa State.

No. 7 David Thorn would be next on the mat for the Gophers, as they trailed 6-0 going into 133. Thorn lead his Iowa State opponent, Shayden Terukina, 6-2 after the first period. He would then go on to collect a takedown and a two-point near fall to bring the score 8-2 in his favor before pinning Terukina with 1:02 left in the second period. The fall for Thorn would bring the Gophers to a six all tie with the Cyclones.

The Golden Gophers would go on to claim the next three to bring the Gophers to a dominating lead as Conrad Rangell and No. 2 Nick Dardanes would both pick up major decisions while Brandon Kingsley, stepping in for No. 5 Dylan Ness, would pick up a decision. At 165, Danny Zilverberg would fall to No. 9 Mike Moreno in a rematch of the Harold Nichols Open title match. He fell by decision, 7-3, as Moreno was able to collect 3:03 of riding time.

No. 2 Penn State 43, Clarion 3

UNIVERSITY PARK, Pa. --  Second-ranked Penn State saw a Rec Hall era come to a close on Sunday during its convincing win against visiting Clarion. Nearly 6,500 fans, the 19th-consecutive home sell-out at PSU, watched Penn State roll to a 43-3 win in the final home dual meet for a very special senior class.

A duo of national champions, Ed Ruth and David Taylor, as well as senior James English wrestled in the final home dual meets of their careers. All three came away victorious with Taylor and Ruth thrilling the capacity crowd with blazingly fast first period falls.

Taylor moves to 26-0 on the year with 12 pins, seven tech falls and six majors. His 49 career pins is second all-time at Penn State, four shy of the all-time record of 63. The 0:11 fall was the second fastest in Penn State history (Dylan Alton had an 0:08 pin last year). Taylor is 126-3, sixth in wins at Penn State, with 49 pins, 41 techs and 28 majors. He ends his career with 63 dual meet victories, a perfect 63-0 record, third all-time at Penn State win dual wins.

Ruth is now 25-1 with ten pins, eight tech falls and six majors. His 45 career pins is third all-time at Penn State. Ruth is now 127-3 all-time, fifth on Penn State's all-time wins list. He has 45 pins, 24 tech falls and 29 majors during his Lion career. He leaves Penn State with a perfect 55-0 dual meet record, eighth all-time in school history.

Penn State won the takedown battle by a 24-4 margin. This was the second time this year Penn State had four pins in a dual (Michigan State). Sanderson's Lions close out the dual meet season with a 15-1 overall record and won their second Big Ten dual meet title (co-) with a 7-1 conference ledger. Clarion is now 9-15 overall. Penn State's 15 dual meet wins is the second most since 1998 when Penn State won 18.

No. 3 Iowa 28, No. 15 Wisconsin

MADISON, Wis. -- Iowa won seven of 10 matches to defeat No. 15 Wisconsin 28-10 and earn a share of the Big Ten dual title Sunday afternoon at the UW Field House.

Cory Clark and Tony Ramos opened the dual with pins, and Nick Moore recorded his team-high fifth major decision to help Iowa improve to 7-1 in conference duals. The Hawkeyes share the Big Ten dual title with Minnesota and Penn State, and in two weeks Iowa returns to Madison to challenge for the Big Ten tournament title.

Clark led 7-2 before decking No. 9 Ryan Taylor in 2:03 at 125. He scored a takedown in the opening 20 seconds, exchanged a pair of reversals to make the score 4-2, and was working on three nearfall points before finishing the match with his ninth fall of the year.

Ramos had to chase Tyler Graff stand-in Matt Cavallaris around the mat for two and one-half periods before finally securing the fall in 6:23 at 133. Graff, ranked No. 5 at 133, missed his second straight match with an injury.

Ramos recorded seven takedowns and 4:28 of riding time before securing his team-best 11th fall.

Consecutive pins gave Iowa a 12-0 lead before Jesse Thielke defeated Iowa's Ethan Owens, 12-1, at 141. Seventh-ranked Brody Grothus put Iowa in front 15-4 with a 2-1 decision at 149, but Wisconsin cut into the lead before intermission when No. 7 Isaac Jordan finished around the ankles in the closing seconds to defeat No. 2 Derek St. John, 3-1, at 157.

After the intermission, Moore extended Iowa's lead to 19-7 with an 18-4 win at 165. He scored a pair of takedowns in each period, piled up 2:37 of riding time, and was awarded three nearfall points as time expired to win his 10th straight match.

The Hawkeyes put the dual away with consecutive wins at 174, 184, and 197. Fifth-ranked Mike Evans scored all four of his points in the third period to shutout No. 20 Scott Liegel, 4-0, at 174. Fourth-ranked Ethen Lofthouse used four takedowns to top Dylan Iczkowski, 11-5, at 184, and No. 13 Nathan Burak used 1:30 of riding time to defeat Timmy McCall, 2-1, at 197.

The Badgers got on the board a final time when No. 10 Connor Medbery scored a deciding takedown in the final seconds to defeat No. 3 Bobby Telford, 3-1.

Subscribe To Email Updates

Enter your information to receive emails about offers, promotions from and our partners