football-fbs flag | December 3, 2014

Offensive explosion at WKU-Marshall

  Western Kentucky QB Brandon Doughty.
15 Western Kentucky’s Brandon Doughty (eight) and Marshall’s Rakeem Cato (seven) combined for an FBS record 15 passing touchdowns in the Hilltoppers’ 67-66 overtime win against the Thundering Herd.  Doughty’s eight set a Conference USA and program record as he completed 34 of 50 passes for 491 yards. Marshall was No. 24 in the CFP Rankings, which makes the win WKU’s first against a ranked team in six tries. The combined 133 points set a Conference USA record, and the combined 91 first-half points was the second most in FBS history. Western Kentucky’s 67 points extended the single-season program record to 528 on the year, and the 738 yards set a single-game mark for the Hilltoppers. Their nine touchdowns brought the season’s total to 69, which also set a program record. In handing Marshall its first loss of the year, WKU finished the regular season on a four-game win streak to improve to 7-5 overall and 4-4 in its Conference USA debut season.


45 With his three touchdowns in Ohio State’s 42-28 win against Michigan, J.T. Barrett set a Big Ten record with 45 touchdowns responsible for (34 passing, 11 rushing) in a single season. He passed Drew Brees’ mark of 42 set at Purdue in 1998. Barrett will not be adding any more touchdowns to that record, however, as he suffered a broken ankle in the fourth quarter and will miss the Big Ten championship against Wisconsin and a bowl game. Meanwhile, Ohio State has not lost a regular season Big Ten game in the past three years, going 24-0 in the conference since Urban Meyer’s arrival.

99 Alabama beat Auburn 55-44 in this year’s edition of the Iron Bowl, and the combined 99 points are the most in series history. The 55 scored by Alabama matches the highest total by a single team in the series (Alabama won 55-0 in 1948). The game also saw rivalry records of combined yards (1,171) and receiving yards (Amari Cooper’s 224) set. Despite the loss, Nick Marshall set an Auburn record with 456 passing yards, and the Tigers’ 44 points is the most allowed by the Crimson Tide in a win. Alabama will try to continue the Iron Bowl’s impressive run on a national level -- each of the past five winners have reached the championship game.

324 South Dakota State Zach Zenner made running through a snowstorm look easy, as he put up 324 all-purpose yards in the Jackrabbits’ 47-40 first-round FCS playoff win against Montana State. Zenner scored five touchdowns, including the decisive 69-yard scamper with 3:10 left. Zenner moved into third place in the career rushing list with 6,415 yards as 252 of his yards came on the ground. It was the third time in his career he has run for more than 200 yards in the first round of the FCS playoffs. Up next for South Dakota State is three-time defending champion North Dakota State.

29 Wisconsin-Whitewater extended its current winning streak to 29, the longest in the country at any division, with a 38-14 win against Wabash in the second round of the Division III playoffs on Saturday. Then on Monday, Buffalo announced it had hired Warhawks coach Lance Leipold. A winner of five national championships at Whitewater, Leipold will see out the end of the season before fully making the Division III-to-FBS jump. The 12-0 Warhawks play Wartburg in the quarterfinals this weekend. Earlier this season, Leipold became the fastest coach in NCAA history to reach 100 career wins, as he did so in just 106 games.

2,260 Melvin Gordon is now fourth on the FBS all-time single-season rushing list with 2,260 yards. He passed former Badger Ron Dayne’s total of 2,109 on Saturday with his 151 yards in Wisconsin’s 34-24 win against Minnesota, becoming the Big Ten’s single-season leader. Gordon now sets his sights on Marcus Allen’s 1981 total of 2,342 at Southern California, followed by UCF’s Kevin Smith (No. 2 with 2,567 in 2007) and the record holder in Oklahoma State’s Barry Sanders (2,628 in 1988).

2: Georgia under Mark Richt fell to Georgia Tech for just the second time in 14 games. It was also the second consecutive overtime game between the two rivals, and the first overtime in the history of Georgia’s Sanford Stadium. … 6: Southern California’s Cody Kessler became the first quarterback to throw for six touchdowns and five in a half against Notre Dame. USC’s 49 points were its second most in series history against the Irish and most since 1974. … 1: Concord beat West Chester 51-36 to advance to the quarterfinals of the Division II tournament, its first playoff win at any level and a school-record 12th win of the season. … 67: Mount Union blew out Washington & Jefferson in the second round 67-0, the largest margin of victory in the history of the Division III playoffs. … 4: Jameis Winston became the first quarterback this season to throw four interceptions in a win. Only Georgia State’s Nick Arbuckle has more first-half interceptions this season than Winston’s 11. … 128: Marcus Mariota became the Pac-12’s all-time leader in touchdowns responsible for with 128 in his career. ... 12: The SEC has a record 12 teams that are bowl eligible. Kentucky, which started the season at 5-1, is one of the two (along with Vanderbilt) SEC teams to not reach that six-win mark. … 16: In beating Ferris State in the DII playoffs and ending its 15-game regular-season win streak, Ohio Dominican extended its road win streak to 16 games. Earlier this season, the roles were reversed, when Ferris State ended ODU’s 21-game regular-season streak. … 5: Georgia Southern has eclipsed 400 yards on the ground five times this season. All five of those times are in the top 30 FBS team rushing performances in history. 14: Louisville’s Gerod Holliman tied the FBS record with his 14th interception of the season. … 2,000: Indiana’s Tevin Coleman joined Melvin Gordon in the club of 2,000-yard rushers in a single season, becoming the 18th player in history to reach that mark.


Top Performers: Week 14
Hand him the ... Amari Cooper

Subscribe To Email Updates

Enter your information to receive emails about offers, promotions from and our partners